Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Truman takes second title at British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Truman takes second title at British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

I-Team’s Joseph Truman took his second gold at the 2015 British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships in Manchester on Thursday, taking top honours in the junior men’s keirin.

British Cycling Junior Academy rider Truman, who took the British kilometre time-trial title on Monday, beat Sportcity Velo’s Thomas Rotherham in the final, with Team Terminator’s Alex Joliffe bronze.

Truman didn’t have it all his own way in a fiercely-fought competition, Joliffe bettering him in the first round heat. But the I-Team rider won his second round heat to book his place in the final, where the Hampshire rider defended the title he claimed 12 months earlier.

Crowds were also treated to one of the best junior men’s points races that the championships has seen in recent years, a race conducted at a 30mph average with the gold medal decided at the final sprint after multiple lap gains.

Velocity Globalbike’s Matthew Walls emerged the victor, dominating his qualifying heat thanks to a solo lap gain before the battle-royale of the final.

Coming into the final sprint, BCM’s Tom England was in the lead on 74 points to Walls’ 72, but the Velocity Globalbike rider managed second place at the finish, to England’s fourth. The two were tied on 75 points but the title was Walls’ due to his better position in the final sprint. Glasgow CT’s Andy Brown took bronze on 66 points.

Matrix Fitness Development’s Lucy Shaw took victory in the junior women’s scratch race following her silver medal in the points race a day earlier, winning the sprint ahead of Team Giordana-Triton’s Eleanor Dickinson and newly-crowned points champion Rebecca Raybould of Poole Wheelers CC.

Carnac-Planet X’s Lauren Booth dominated the mixed junior and under-16 para-cycling competition. Booth, who rides in the youth C4 classification, won the 500-metre time-trial on Tuesday before back-to-back wins on Thursday in the 200-metre time-trial and 2000-metre pursuit. Silver went to Matthew Robertson of Woolwich CC with North Midlands Youth Squad’s Amelia Cass winning bronze.

Bush Healthcare CRT’s Rhys Britton took the under-16 boys’ scratch race title ahead of VC Londres’ Fred Wright and Solihull CC’s Jake Stewart, while RST RT’s Jessica Roberts took the under-16 pursuit title, qualifying fastest before beating Cardiff JIF’s Emily Tillett. VC Londres’ Rachel Jary won a tight contest with Sportcity Velo’s Ellie Russell to win bronze.

The five-day championships conclude on Friday.


Junior men
Junior women
Under-16 male
Under-16 female


Watch the team live