Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Capewell makes it a title hat-trick at the British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Capewell makes it a title hat-trick at the British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

Lichfield City CC’s Sophie Capewell made it three titles from three events at the 2015 British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships on Wednesday.

The astonishing Capewell added the keirin to the junior sprint and 500-metre time-trial titles she won on Monday and Tuesday, bossing her first round before winning the final ahead of Rebecca Dornan (The Racers) and Lauryn Dawber (Carnac-Planet X).

The third day of racing at the National Cycling Centre also saw Velocity Globalbike’s Reece Wood take the junior men’s scratch title in a final where seven riders took a lap, Wood coming out strongest among them at the line. VC Londres’ Ethan Hayter took silver ahead of RST RT’s Joseph Fry. Wood was dominant in his qualification heat, ensuring his progression thanks to a solo lap gain.

Rebecca Raybould of Poole Wheelers CC proved too strong for the opposition in the junior women’s points race, winning three of the eight sprints to take gold ahead of Matrix Fitness Development’s Lucy Shaw and Team Velosport’s Abigail Dentus. The latter pair tied on points, with silver going to Shaw thanks to a win in the final sprint.

Rhys Britton dominated the under-16 boys’ pursuit, the Bush Healthcare CRT completing the 2000-metre effort in 2:14.792 to take gold in the final, a second and a half faster than VC Londres’ Fred Wright.

Britton qualified two seconds ahead of the competition and backed-up brilliantly to take the title, while Solihull’s Jake Stewart overcame a qualifying deficit to claim bronze ahead of Bournemouth Arrow’s Charley Calvert.

RST RT’s Jessica Roberts took the under-16 points title, beating Giant CC-Halo Films’ Lauren Dolan. The pair tied on ten points but Roberts took the win thanks to scoring two crucial points in the last of six sprints.

Anna Docherty of Clifton CC took bronze, like Roberts winning the medal ahead of Rhona Callander of Stirling BC thanks to a last-ditch sprint.

Lauren Bate-Lowe of Black Line took the British under-16 sprint title, beating Stirling BC’s Amber King in two straight rides.

Bate-Lowe was head and shoulders above the competition and beat both Jenny Holl in the quarters and Amber Joseph in the semis in straight two-match contests to book her place in the final.

Wolverhampton Wheelers’ Georgia Hilleard took bronze, also dispatching her opponent Joseph in a two-match round.

The championships continue until Friday 7 August.


Junior men
Junior women
Under-16 male
Under-16 female


Watch the team live