Inter-Regional Champs Preview


Welsh team member Owain Doull with UK School Games Ambassador Darren Cambell

With eight British Champions, twelve other British Championship medallists, the National Omnium Series Winners and the British Team from the European Youth Olympics all entered, the racing will be fast and furious and include many of the best young riders from around Britain. The event is being held at the Newport Velodrome from 4th-6th September as part of the UK School Games. The Games are an Olympic style multi-sport event where school aged athletes across 10 different sports will stay in an athletes village and be competing for their regions in the same way as senior riders compete for their countries at the Olympic Games.

Event organiser (cycling), George Gilbert, said “It has been inspiring to see the regions step up to the challenge and use the event as a focal point for the development of youth racing.  Many of the regions have been putting on extra coaching, racing and even training camps for their riders and the benefits are clear to see."

"In particular, for those regions without a track or established coaching programmes, riders have had new opportunities, and new talent that would otherwise have been missed has come to light. With such a strong line up, the racing next week will be fantastic. Backed by the Youth Sport Trust and National Lottery and with national media coverage, the event will showcase to the country the strength and depth of youth talent we have in cycling and will provide a lasting legacy of the build up to the 2012 Olympics.”

For tickets and further information about the UK School Games visit:

Cycling Teams

Alice Barnes
Natalie Hill
Harriet Owen
Benjamin Bailey
Stephen Bradbury
William Macke
John Paul

East Midlands
Lucy Garner
Sarah King
Emily Trimble
Ben Green
Sam Lowe
Alex Minting
Tom Young

Mollie Baker
Esther Colman
Bethany Hayward
Edward Bird
Thomas Gallacher
Jim Lewis
Oliver Rossi
North East
Josh Moody
Charlie Tanfield
Harry Tanfield
Joshua Teasdale

North West
Jess Anderson
Melissa Bury
Jessica Crampton
James Berryman
Luke Boulton
Jack Penrice
Matt Rotherham

Eleanor Corkhill
Hannah Ferguson
Kate McCullough Young
Tom Arnstein
Greg Brown
Stuart McClusky
Kyle Yates

Ellie Gilham
Stephanie Higgs
Katie Metalli
Sam Anstice
Jonathan Dibben
Daniel Marshall
Sean Wheddon

South East
Bryony Darbon
Kimberly English
Amy Jacobs
Euan Cattermole
Ashley Dennis
Charlie Heffernan
Nicholas Smith

Ciara Mulholland
Claire Oakley
Matthew Brennan
Mark Downey
Nathan McLeer
Jack Wilson

Sarah Crowley
Amy Hill
Amy Roberts
Matthew Cross
Owain Doull
Matthew Haase
Robbie Westwood

West Midlands
Beth Crumpton
Angela Eggleton
Emily Kay
Tom Baker
Declan Byrne
Rob Lambton
Joshua Papworth

Hannah Shenton
Rebecca Womersley
Jordan Hargreaves
Ashley Marshall
Jordan Skinner
Scott Woodhead