Road: Trio Of Teams Announced For ToB

Road: Trio Of Teams Announced For ToB

Home » Search

Published: 23 August 2011

NetApp, Vacansoleil and Topsport Vlaanderen have revaled their provisional team line-ups for this September's Tour of Britain, which begins in Scotland on Sunday 11 September.

Team NetApp lead the way as they prepare to make their debut at The Tour of Britain, with a team led by South African rider Daryl Impey that also includes recent Tour of Austria runner-up and Best Young Rider Leopold König.

Commenting on the German team's first appearance at The Tour of Britain, Team NetApp Team Manager Ralph Denk said: "As a young team, we are looking forward to racing The Tour of Britain for the first time, being the most known race of the country. We will compete with a squad that is suited best to the challenging course.

"With Bartosz Huzarski we aim for a top ten rank in the general classification and with Daniel Schorn, who has fully recovered after his accident at the Tour of Austria, we will take our chances in the sprints. Strong riders like Jan Barta, who is known for his attacks, will complete the team. As we proved many times in recent stage races Team NetApp will also leave its mark at The Tour of Britain with an active racing style."

The Topsport Vlaanderen Mercator team is led by former Under-23 World Time Trial Champion Dominique Cornu and includes Stijn Neirynck, who recorded three top ten stage finishes at the 2010 Tour of Britain.

Vacansoleil DCM Pro Cycling team includes a quartet of Dutch riders, plus Belgian Willem Wauters and Russian Maxim Belko, while Tour of Britain stage winner Borut Bozic is among their reserve riders for the event.

Daily highlights of The Tour of Britain will once again be screened every evening on ITV4 from the 11 to 18 September.

Team NetApp Team provisional Tour of Britain line-up:
Jan Barta (CZE), Cesare Benedetti (ITA), Bartosz Huzarski (POL), Daryl Impey (RSA), Leopold König (CZE), Timon Seubert (GER)

Reserves: Andreas Dietziker (SUI), Andreas Schillinger (GER), Daniel Schorn (AUT)

Topsport Vlaanderen Mercator provisional Tour of Britain line-up:
Dominique Cornu (BEL), Kenny De Ketele (BEL), Stijn Neirynck (BEL), Jarl Salomein (BEL), Preben Van Hecke (BEL), Jelle Wallays (BEL)

Reserves: Sven Jodts (BEL), Stijn Joseph (BEL), Steven Van Vooren (BEL)

Vacansoleil DCM Pro Cycling Team provisional Tour of Britain line-up:
Maxim Belkov (RUS), Jan-Bert Lindeman (NED), Barry Markus (NED), Wouter Mol (NED), Jens Mouris (NED), Willem Wauters (BEL)

Reserves: Borut Bozic (SLO), Marcello Pavarin (ITA)