Cross: Worrall wins Welsh League R8

Home » Search

Location: Margam Park, Port Talbot
Event: 20 November 2011
Report: Liz Slater
Pictures: Roy Bevis

Junior Will Worrall gave an impressive display of strength and bike handling on a brief return, in between National Trophy Series events, to win Round 8 of the Welsh League at Margam Park. There may have been little rain leading up to the event but the ground was still heavy and tough on riders and bikes.

Worrall and fellow Juniors Matthew Thompson and Adam King (both Cardiff JIF) initially sheltered from the strong south-easterly wind behind League leader Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) as they settled into the race. But it was not long before Worrall attacked and Lally found himself alone as King and Thompson dropped back to begin their race-long tussle. With Lally unable to get back on terms with the Towy Rider, Worrall took victory once again and King finally shook off his club-mate for third place. Also taking a break from National competition Amy Roberts (For Viored Brookvex) was a comfortable winner in the Women's category and Veteran Mark James (Team Jewson) continued his run of victories.

Another bumper entry of U10s were encouraged round their course by a deafening chorus of cheers from their parents. Abergavenny RC's Rhys Thomas and Towy Rider Emma Finucane left their rivals standing, finishing first and second respectively. And another strong performance by U8 Josh Tarling saw him cross the line in third. Club-mate Awen Roberts was first U8 Girl.

U12 Owain Roberts (Towy Riders) once again took to the front at the start and this time, despite their best efforts, his Abergavenny RC rivals were unable to catch him. Megan James came so close but a slip in the wooded section handed Owain an opportunity that he was going to make the most of - and with it his first League victory of the season.

U16 Sam Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC) led from start to finish in the Youth race with club-mate Alister Williams finally getting the better of U14 James Tillett (Cardiff JIF) for second place after a poor start. Manon Lloyd was first U16 Girl and fellow Towy Rider U14 Jessica Roberts made it two wins for the Roberts family.


1 William Worrall (Towy Riders CC) J
2 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) S
3 Adam King (Cardiff JIF) J
4 Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) J
5 Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing) V
6 Phil Morris (Dambusters) S
7 Richard Bowen (Abergavenny RC) S
8 Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon) S
9 Andrew Parry (Bynea CC) S
10 Adrian Peall (Forza Cycles) S
Junior: William Worrall. Veteran: Mark James. Woman: Amy Roberts (For Viored Brookvex).

1 Sam Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC)
2 Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC)
3 James Tillett (Cardiff JIF) U14
4 Jack Sowden (Bad Ass Bikes)
5 Harry Sowden (Bad Ass Bikes)
U16 Girl: Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders)
U14 Boy: James Tillett
U14 Girl: Jessica Roberts (Towy Riders)
U12 Boy: Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
U12 Girl: Megan James (Abergavenny RC)
U10 Boy: Rhys Thomas (Abergavenny RC)
U10 Girl: Emma Finucane (Towy Riders)
U8 Boy: Joshua Tarling (Towy Riders)
U8 Girl: Awen Roberts (Towy Riders)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.