Aldridge and Short claim victories after a tense fourth cross-country round

Aldridge and Short claim victories after a tense fourth cross-country round


The fourth round of the National Cross-country Series saw another win from Charlie Aldridge while Isla Short stormed to the women’s victory at Woody’s Bike Park in Fowey.


The men’s race saw a great battle with Charlie Aldridge (Cannondale) and Cameron Mason (Trinity), who formed a two-up early on to gain time over the rest of the field. Aldridge finally managed to get a small gap on the last climb to take the win, with Mason having to settle for second. Behind them several riders were involved with the battle for the rest of the podium spots, with positions changing every laps, but it was Rory McGuire (Leslie Bike Shop) who took third, Grant Ferguson (Hope) in fourth continuing his great season, and a delighted Ben Wadey in fifth.

In the women’s race, it was a reversal of the previous round with Isla Short (Ghost) escaping from Ella Maclean-Howell (Team Inspired) to take a smooth and controlled win. The two stayed together for the first few laps, before Short escaped to take a comfortable win. Anna McGorum (Peebles) led the rest of the field home with Jo Thom (Torq Performance) picking up fourth and Christina Wiejak (St Piran) getting the Cornish racing team onto the podium on home turf.


Expert and sport categories

In the men’s expert category, Tom Couzens (Ribble Collective) took a commanding win, while Leo White (Reflex Racing) and Joe Barker (Shibden) had a great battle for the second and third places.

In the women’s combined expert and sport category, Bronwen Jenkinson (Clwb Beicio Egni Eryri) secured the win comfortably ahead of Naomi Metcalfe (Army Cycling Union) with a surprised and delighted Rachel Bennet taking the final podium spot.  

In the men’s sport category, a close battle in the first few laps was ended when Michael Wright (Gateway Racing) broke away from Jim Vernon (Ride Revolution Coaching) to take a commanding win, with Sam Marshall (Trash Mile) taking third.



Max Greensill (Hope) maintained his winning streak in the junior men’s race with another impressive performance. Reuben Oakley (Rotor) escaped from the rest of the pack for a great second place, while Alfie Amey (GKR Racing) took third and Billy Reed (Louth Cycle Centre) fourth. Oscar Taylor (Clifton) picked up fifth in this incredibly competitive field.

Kacey Eyeington (Derwentside) broke away early on in the junior women’s race and stayed out in front until the end. Bethany-Ann Jackson (WXC Racing) was beginning to make ground on Eyeington by the end of the race but had to settle for second to continue her great season. Daisy Taylor (Royal Albert) brought home the rest of the field ahead of Lucy Allsop (Rotor) and Florence Lissaman (Newark Castle).


Youth and juvenile

Gus Lawson (Pentland Racers) had missed the previous round so was busy making up for it in the juvenile boys’ race, with Luke Trafford (Shibden) having to settle for second place this round and Daniel Davies (Maindy Flyers) finished third. The unstoppable Olivia Poole (Deeside Thistle) won the girls’ race again ahead of Orla White (Dartmoor Velo) and Aoife Scawn (Dartmoor Velo).

The youth boy’s race was dominated by Max Standen (Southfork Racing). Alex Hart (Mid Shropshire Wheelers) took a good second place and it was Declan Oldham (Hope) with his performance of the season so far who took the final podium spot.

In the girls’ category, series leader Evie Strachan (RR23 – suffered an unfortunate mechanical on the start line which left Maddie Moorhouse-Smith (Hope) free to leave the rest of the field standing for her second win of the season. Aelwen Davies (Velo Myrddin) battled with Maisie Harper (Pine Sport) to take second place.



Paul Oldham (Hope) dominated the men’s veteran race, winning with a commanding lead over the rest of the field. Graham Briggs (Scott), who last raced mountain bike as a junior, came in second, while Sam Humphrey took another third place.

In the women’s veterans, Karen Heppenstall (Race Off Road) finished first, while Rowena Duffield (Cwmcarn Paragon) took second and Ruth Miller (Ben Thomas Coaching) picked up third spot.

It the grand veterans, it was back to normal as Nick Craig (Scott) returned to the front of the race. Behind him, Mark Chamberlain (Hunt Wheels) remained ahead of Dougie Cameron to take second and third respectively.

Cheri Mills (Oneplanet Adventure) won the grand veterans race yet again, incidentally overtaking all the veterans in front of her as well. Helen Pattison (Montezumas) was second ahead of Miriam Whitehurst (Reflex Racing).

In the men’s super veterans, Grant Johnson is still proving unbeatable this season. Andy Weaving (Cotswold) picked up second place, with Kirby Bennett (Team Enable M.I. Racing) in third.



In a very competitive youth and juvenile boys’ short track race, it was Leon Atkins (Welwyn Wheelers) who took another win with Innes McDonald (Scotia Off Road Team) grabbing second place ahead of Max Standen (Southfork Racing)

Tulsi Bakrania (WXC) took the another win in the girls’ race this time ahead of Lara Dix (Dartmoor Velo)  and Grace Ward (365 Shutt Ridley).


In the senior and junior category, a hotly contested race saw a sprint finish, with Rory McGuire (Leslie Bike Shop) beating Max Greensill (Hope) and Cameron Mason (Trinity). Anna McGorum (Peebles) won the women’s race with Ruby James (Hope) in second and Bethany-Ann Jackson (WXC) in third.

Paul Oldham (Hope) took another win in the vet men’s race with Richard Freshwater (Hunt) in second ahead of Paul Hopkins (Gillingham and District). Karen Heppenstall (Race Off Road) beat Rowena Duffield (Cwmcarn Paragon) in the vet women.

Photos available here