Roberts and Wherry take maiden HSBC UK | National Four Cross Series wins of 2017

Roberts and Wherry take maiden HSBC UK | National Four Cross Series wins of 2017

Home » Search

Dave Roberts and Meg Wherry both got their first HSBC UK | National Four Cross Series wins of the season on a slippy course in Falmouth.

Round six of the series saw a first win of the year for Action Sports Timing’s Dave Roberts, while for Wherry it was a first series win of her career.

Roberts springs a surprise

Roberts lined up against Charlie Currie, Duncan Ferris and Will Evans in the men’s final, with few predicting that he would go on to be victorious.

Ferris and Evans took advantage of a fast start to establish a lead in the first half of the race, with Currie chasing had and Roberts looking out of the reckoning in fourth.

But Ferris struggled in the latter stages of the race, with Currie leapfrogging him into second place as Evans continued to lead.

Disaster struck for Evans and Ferris on the penultimate corner, though, as they both hit the deck at full speed.

Roberts successfully avoided the stricken pair to cruise home for the win, while Currie was hampered by them, but did not come down, and rolled in for second – with Ferris getting off the floor first to come third, with Evans fourth.

“I must admit that was unexpected,” said Roberts. I came out of the gate and got snapped massively and found myself sitting at the back of the race until the second from last corner where Will and Dunc came together.

“I managed to slide round them and hold on to the line. It was epic fun.

“I’m not going to the Worlds next week as I have a previous engagement, looks like I’ve peaked at the right time though.

“I’ve been playing the game for a good few years so to beat these guys is a nice result.”

A first for Wherry

In the women’s race the absence of National Champion Tyde d’Souza, as well as an absent Hannah Escott, made for a wide open race.

Eventual winner Wherry eased through her motos, as did Courtney Abbiss, leaving them to fight it out for the win with Clare Curtis and Mel Nice in the final.

As it was, there was little fighting as Wherry launched herself out of the start gate to establish a lead that she never looked like giving up, despite a chasing Abbiss in second, with Curtis taking third and Nice coming home fourth.

Earlier in the day Fin Keogh had beaten Alex Piper and Matt Griffin to the junior race win, as his three moto successes were enough to take the win.



1. Dave Roberts

2. Charlie Currie

3. Duncan Ferris

4. Will Evans


1. Meg Wherry

2. Courtney Abbiss

3. Clare Curtis

4. Mel Nice


1. Fin Keogh

2. Alex Piper

3. Matt Griffin