Rushby and Wootton sprint to victories as Youth Circuit Series reaches Stirling

Rushby and Wootton sprint to victories as Youth Circuit Series reaches Stirling

Home » Search

Pedalsport’s Max Rushby sprinted to the win as the penultimate round of the British Cycling National Youth Circuit Series rolled north of the border to the Scottish town of Stirling.

While Rushby enjoyed success in the U16 boys race, there was similarly a first win of the series for Kate Wootton (Lee Valley Youth) in the girls equivalent.

Kieran Riley (Lansdale Lightweight RT) did likewise in the U14 boys race with Eva Young (Pedal Power RT) taking her second win of the series in the U14 girls race.

U16 Boys

Rushby was part of a three-man break that defined the race from the opening laps and then outsprinted George Mills-Keeling(WWCC) and Jamieson Blain(Halesowen A&CC) to claim a well deserved victory, with Sam Watson (Chevin Cycles.Com Trek) finishing safely in the bunch to retain the series lead.

A large field took to the start, the front row comprising the series protagonists but it would be those riders who would all but nullify each other’s race. 

An early attack by series leader Watson and Alfie George (Discovery Junior CC) came to nothing, the break chased down by the field. George would prove to be active throughout the race, hitting the cobbles on the front of the main field on pretty much every lap. 

Lewis Askey, riding for his new team of Backstedt / HotChillie tried to jump away but the likes of Askey would be given no quarter, his race and series ultimately ending after a crash on the final lap.

Mills-Keeling and Rusby made a play after some 20 minutes and after a couple laps off the front were joined by Blain.

The threesome worked well as a team throughout the race, their lead increasing to some 24 seconds.

The main field did not appear to be looking to respond until Joe Pidcock (Chevin Cycles.Com Trek) hooked up with George and went on the chase, the pair put in a big effort and looked to be slowly bringing the leaders back until the trio put an effort in to extend their lead to a little under a minute.

It was the final drop down into the finish straight on Dumbarton Road that saw the trio finally split, Rushby having the legs to take the win from Mills-Keeling. Oli Rees(Albion Cycling Co) took the bunch sprint and Sam Watson finished safely in the bunch to retain the series lead.

U16 girls

In the U16 girls race it was Wootton who got the better of a select group of 11 to take her first win of the Series.

With Series leader Ella Barnwell not taking the start, the door was open for Wootton and Amelia Sharpe(Team RL 360 IOM) to challenge for the lead.

With the strong riders in the lead group the win was obviously going to come from any one of the front group and with no one having the strength to get any kind of gap it was always going to come down to a sprint finish.

Lucy Gadd (Poole Wheelers) tried to go as the five to go board was shown as did Eve Barrow (Salt Ayre Cog Set) a couple of laps later but it was Wootton who took a perfect sprint straight up the middle of the road holding off Olivia Bent (Team Jadan-Weldtite) and Gadd into second and third respectively.

U14 boys

Riley took a fine win in the U14 boys race to take his debut win of the series outsprinting both Josh Charlton (Hetton Hawks CC) and series leader Max Poole (Bike Box Alan).

A fast and furious opening few laps saw numerous attacks off the front but all to no avail. With the race settling down after some 20 minutes a group of 19 eased away from the rest of the big field.

The usual race makers all had a dig off the head of the race but such was the way of the race it was seemed likely a sprint finish would follow.

A group of five attacked at the start of the penultimate lap, Riley, Poole, Finlay Pickering (Hull Thursday RC), Tyler Hannay (Team RL 360 IOM) and Charlton got a gap but it would be short lived and the field would be back as one to take the bell.

The descent onto the finish straight saw the field split slightly, but the series hopefuls were all in the front group of nine, Riley coming straight through the middle to take the sprint.

U14 girls

In the U14 girls it was Young who took her second win of the series to move up the overall standings in the series.

Young, who was ever present throughout the race, took the sprint from Isabella Escalera (VC Londres) and Grace Lister (WWCC). 

Although a small field took to the start line it was nonetheless a hard fought race on the cobbles, no rider able to take any useful gap from the bunch until with four laps remaining.

The field came into the finish straight together, a group of nine stole a few bike lengths but Young held her line to take a fine sprint win. 


U16 Boys

1. Max Rusbhy (Pedalsport Cycling Club)

2. George Mills-Keeling (Wolverhampton Whls)

3. Jamieson Blain (Halesowen A & CC)

4. Oliver Rees (Albion Cycling Co)

5. Alfred George (Discovery Junior Cycling Club)

U16 Girls

1. Kate Wootton (Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club)

2. Olivia Bent (Team Jadan-Weldtite)

3. Lucy Gadd (Poole Wheelers CC)

4. Amelia Sharpe (Team RL360 Isle of Man)

5. Amy Monkhouse (Team Jadan-Weldtite)

U14 Boys

1. Kieran Riley (Langdale Lightweights Racing Team)

2. Joshua Charlton (Hetton Hawks Cycling Club)

3. Max Poole (Bike Box Alan)

4. Benjamin Peatfield (Green Jersey RT)

5. Finlay Pickering (Hull Thursday RC)

U14 Girls

1. Eva Young (Pedal Power RT)

2. Isabella Escalera (VC Londres)

3. Grace Lister (Wolverhampton Whls)

4. Laura Curle (Bristol Cycling Development Squad)

5. Imani Pereira-James (East Kilbridge Road Club)


HSBC 2017 | Youth Circuit Series Rnd 5 Stirling