Race guide: Time trials - 2017 HSBC UK | National Road Championships

Race guide: Time trials - 2017 HSBC UK | National Road Championships

Home » Search

The HSBC UK | National Road Championships will return to the Isle of Man on Thursday 22 June for the time trial competition; an event which has attracted some of the biggest names in cycling during its illustrious history.



How to follow

Ones to watch

Elite men

Alex Dowsett will start as the clear favourite in the elite men’s time trial, having won his fifth national title at the 2016 event in Stockton-on-Tees.

The Movistar rider will be looking for a record sixth title, whist being challenged by 2016’s silver and bronze medallists James Gullen (JLT Condor) and Ryan Perry (Team Raleigh GAC), as well as former under-23 champion Sam Harrison (Team Wiggins) and the Team Sky duo of Owain Doull and Tao Geoghegan Hart.

Alex Dowestt took his fifth time trial title in 2016

Another interesting name to keep an eye on is John Archibald, (brother of gold medal-winning Olympian Katie), who recently broke Graham Obree’s Scottish record for the 25 mile time trial and could trouble the podium places if his strong form continues.

Start list

Elite women

Two-time national time trial champion Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT) will return to challenge for her third consecutive title.

Hayley Simmonds will be looking for her third time trial title in 2017

There will be stiff competition for Simmonds in the form of former junior time trial world champion Elinor Barker (Matrix Pro Cycling) and Simmonds’ WNT teammate Katie Archibald, as well as 2016 road race champion Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRM).

The women’s competition will see many of the top names from the HSBC UK | National Road Series, OVO Energy Women’s Tour and Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series take their place on the starting ramp.

Rebecca Durrell (Drops), Ejay Harris (Storey Racing) and Claire Rose (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling) will prove forces to be reckoned with, while Team Breeze will be fielding Ellie Dickinson, Melissa Lowther and Manon Lloyd in their search for a podium finish.

Within the elite women's race, a first-ever under-23 women's time trial champion will be crowned on the Isle of Man, with the likes of Lloyd, Emily Kay (Team WNT), Abby-Mae Parkinson and Alice Barnes (both Drops) among the contenders.

Team Breeze trio will be on the time trial start line on the Isle of Man

Start list

Under-23 men

Scott Davies (Team Wiggins) took his third consecutive under-23 time trial title in 2016 and has set his sights on a record fourth on the Isle of Man.

There will be stiff competition for the 21-year in the form of Matthew Gibson (JLT Condor) and Charlie Tanfield (Brother NRG DriverPlan) but three-time winner Davies has already proved he doesn’t shy away from a strong title defence.

Scott Davies won his third under 23 time trial title in 2016

Great Britain Cycling Team Senior Academy riders Adam Hartley and Reece Wood will be looking to perform well in the colours of 100% ME, while teammate Jacob Hennessy will be hoping to continue his winning ways after an excellent season on the road so far, which has included a win in the Gent Wevelgem Under-23 race.

Start list

The course

The women and under-23 men will complete one loop of the course, while the elite men will race two laps.

The 2017 HSBC UK | National Time Trial Championships course map

The time trial riders will head north along the coast to Kirk Michael before heading south back down the Isle of Man TT course to Ballacraine Corner, where the course bears right to head back towards the race finish.

Some of the island’s most recognisable landmarks will be incorporated in the course, which will include a fitting nod towards the island’s sporting heritage, whilst giving spectators the best possible opportunity to view the riders in action.


Start times

Women: 11am
Women’s presentation 12:40pm
Under-23 men: 1pm
Under-23 men’s presentation 2:50pm
Men: 6:30pm
Men’s presentation 9pm

How to follow

  • Follow @BritishCycling on Twitter for race updates and on Instagram for the behind the scenes story.
  • A full report, results, images and reaction each day on the British Cycling website.
  • Follow every minute of the action on the British Cycling live blog.
  • Highlights of the time trials will be shown on Eurosport on Sunday 25 June at 7.30pm.