Guide: Motorpoint Spring Cup Series reaches penultimate round at Cycle Wiltshire Grand Prix

Home » Search

The race for individual and team honours continues at the round four of five in the Motorpoint Spring Cup Series this Sunday, the Cycle Wiltshire Grand Prix.

NFTO’s Jonathan McEvoy leads the individual standings by just three points from Raleigh GAC’s Adria Moreno Sala with two races to go.

McEvoy’s NFTO have led the team standings from the off but with Madison Genesis and Pedal Heaven within striking distance, NFTO cannot rest on the slender lead. 

Motorpoint Spring Cup Series

The Motorpoint Spring Cup Series is a five-round series running from March through to May.

Action began with the Chorley Grand Prix followed by the Manx International Grand Prix and then the two-day Tour of the Reservoir.

Cycle Wiltshire is the penultimate round before the prestigious Lincoln Grand Prix brings the series to a dramatic conclusion on the cobbles of Michaelgate.

Riders will race for the Motorpoint Spring Cup Series leader’s jersey while there is also the battle for the team classification.

The course

The course map for the Cycle Wiltshire Grand Prix

Starting in the Market Square the race starts with a ceremonial rollout through Salisbury before heading to Wilton for the racing start.

The circuit which takes in numerous parishes, including Burcombe, Barford St Martin, Compton Chamberlayne, Fovant, Ebbesbourne Wake, Bishopstone and Broad Chalke, with riders taking on the challenging climb of Fovant Down five times before heading back into Salisbury for the sprint finish.

Ones to watch

NFTO include Chorley Grand Prix and Manx International Grand Prix winners Ed Bradbury and Ian Bibby respectively, with Motorpoint Spring Cup Series leader Jonathan McEvoy also in the team’s ranks.

At the time of writing, Tour of the Reservoir winner Joe Fry is not set to take to the line but his Pedal Heaven team will aim to continue a fantastic series that sees them third in the team standings and with four riders in the top ten of the individual leader board.

Erick Rowsell of Madison Genesis took the second stage win at the Reservoir, a result that puts him third in the standings and just nine points adrift of McEvoy. Team Raleigh’s Adria Moreno Sala is even closer in second, just three points behind.

Erick Rowsell of Madison Genesis

Last year’s winner Andy Tennant is not set to start for Team Wiggins but Sam Harrison, Daniel Patten and Mike Thompson are set to feature.

JLT Condor will be without Chris Lawless who took two fine top-ten placings at the Tour de Yorkshire. But they can call upon the experienced Russ Downing, who himself placed an excellent ninth on stage two of the race from Otley to Doncaster.

Start list

Rider standings

2016 Motorpoint Spring Cup individual standings after round three

Team standings

2016 Motorpoint Spring Cup Team Standings

What happened last year

Andy Tennant took victory in 2014 as the Team Wiggins man beat One Pro Cycling’s Yanto Barker in a sprint finish, having distanced Mike Northey (Madison Genesis) and Edmund Bradbury (NFTO) from the four-person break.

How to follow the racing

  • Follow the action from the Motorpoint Spring Cup Series on our live blog from 10.45am on Sunday for race updates, images and social media.
  • Follow @BritishCycling on Twitter for updates from both events throughout the racing.
  • Video highlights, report, results, images and reaction will appear on the British Cycling website.
  • Highlights of the Motorpoint Spring Cup Series will be shown on Eurosport.