Revolution Series draws to a close with success for Team USN

Revolution Series draws to a close with success for Team USN

Home » Search

Thousands of Revolution fans headed to the National Cycling Centre for the sixth and final round of the Revolution Series. 

Fred Wright won both the Points and Scratch races in Manchester as part of the HOY Future Stars event. However Wright's winning form came too late in the Series, Rhys Britton sealed his top podium place and the HOY Future Stars championship with a win in the Six Lap Dash.

Sophie Capewell won a clean sweep in the Girls' events. She made sprinting to the line look easy as she won the Six Lap Dash and Scratch race by a bike length. Capewell's efforts were not enough to take first place, as Eleanor Dickinson placed consistently well, winning the overall competition.

Team USN, supported by Welsh Cycling, took the team prize in HOY Future Stars competition with some good individual performances throughout the series, with Rhys Britton winning the HOY Future Stars Boys competition.

Ian Jenkins, Project 2018 Development Officer said: “The HOY Future Stars competition is a fantastic opportunity to work with youth riders in a competitive environment. With the support from USN, Welsh Cycling has been able to provide all Welsh riders with coaching feedback at the events and added training activities throughout the Revolution Series.”

The Elite Women's races had the crowd on their feet, with the wins spread across the peleton. Laura Trott won the Elimination race with flawless tactics. Team USN’s Ellie Coster won the Scratch race in a very tight sprint. Matrix Fitness-Vulpine’s Elinor Barker was victorious in the Points race and said afterwards: “It's fun and good practice, I haven't been exposed to that level of bunch racing since the World Cup”.

In the Revolution Longest Lap, Joel Partington held a convincing track stand on the line was enough to propel him into the lead when the gun fired. Partington was too quick for Team USN's Joe Holt and had time to raise his arms as he crossed the line.

The Men's Sprint final came down to a third leg between Charlie Conord and Team USN’s Lewis Oliva. Conord forced Oliva to take up the lead out after a long track stand. He went on to win by nine centimetres, shutting out Oliva at the line.

Full results for this round can be viewed online here. TV highlights of Round 6 will be shown on Channel 4 on Saturday 21 March at 7.00am and then will be available to view online on 4OD.

Tickets for next season will be on sale in a few weeks. Click here to pre-register for priority access.