Welsh cycling coaches shortlisted for Wales Sport Awards 2014

Welsh cycling coaches shortlisted for Wales Sport Awards 2014

Home » Search

The powerful personal stories of the coaches and volunteers inspiring the Welsh public to play sport have been revealed.

Welsh Cycling's Head Coach, Darren Tudor has been shortlisted for Coach of the Year at the 2014 Wales Sport Awards, whilst Rebecca Peart has been nominated for Young Coach of the Year.

From new golf scholarships for children in one of the most deprived communities in the country to setting up a not-for-profit surfing organisation for young people with severe disabilities, the Wales Sport Awards finalists give a unique insight into Welsh sporting life.

Darren Tudor is a contender for the elite Coach of the Year prize for 2014, with his competition coming from the sports of gymnastics and boxing.

"It’s always nice to be recognised for your achievements, but that’s not why I coach! There’s always the wider team of support staff at Welsh Cycling and Sport Wales as well, who support the riders and programme and it is good for everyone to be recognised for their contributions.

“It’s great to be recognised for my coaching work with all our athletes in Wales, and I wish the best of luck to the other finalists.”

Rebecca Peart, nominated for Young Coach of the Year, turned from competing in cycling to coaching at her local cycling club, as well as study sport at University.

“I think back to when I was younger and what support I would have wanted. You have to be patient, as someone may not get it first time. And empathetic too – if you aren’t then coaching probably isn’t for you. They also need to enjoy it, or neither will you.”

The finalists will come together on December 8 at the Sport Wales National Centre in Cardiff to recognise the very best of elite and grassroots sport in Wales.

The Wales Sport Awards is a partnership between Sport Wales and BBC Wales to create the country’s biggest annual sporting celebration.

The community coaching and volunteering finalists are:

Coach of the Year

Jo Coombs - Gymnastics

Darren Tudor - Cycling

Colin Jones - Boxing

Volunteer of the Year

Donna Marshall – Rugby Union - Taffs Well RFC

Trevor Dutton – Football – Rhyl

Steve Dyer – Football – Ely Valley FC

Community Coach of the Year

Julia Rees – Gymnastics – Maldwyn Dragons

Royden Healey – Triathlon – Ruthin Tri Stars

Nicola Stroud – Golf – Gower Golf Club

Young Coach of the Year

Rachel Davies – Multi-Sport – RCT

Rebecca Peart – Cycling – Newport and Cardiff

Niall McGuinness – Football – Rhyl FC

Young Volunteer of the Year

Rhys Young – Athletics and Multi-Sport – Bridgend/Bridgend Athletics Club

Ieuan Coombes – Multi-Sport - Monmouthshire

Shannon Heard – Multi-Sport and Gymnastics – Bridgend/A-Z Gymnastics Club

Coach to Disabled People of the Year

Paul Jenkins – Wheelchair Rugby – South Wales Pirates Wheelchair Rugby Club

Ben Clifford – Surfing - Swansea

Samuel Moore – Surfing and Swimming - Bridgend

“These individuals are at the very heart of sport in Wales and working to give people opportunities to take part in sport and achieve success,” said Professor Laura McAllister, Chair of Sport Wales.

“They are an inspiration because without people like this sport in Wales would not be as strong.

“Choosing the finalists was such a difficult task but reading their stories goes to prove that they deserve their time in the spotlight.”

Head of Sport at BBC Cymru Wales, Geoff Williams commented:

“Every finalist in each category has excelled and proved inspirational. Sport has always united people and we’re all excitedly looking forward to the Wales Sport Awards when representatives from a wide background have a chance to celebrate each other’s achievements.”  


For more information visit www.walessportawards.org.uk