Wales team announced for Omloop van Borsele

Wales team announced for Omloop van Borsele

Home » Search

Welsh Cycling has confirmed the Wales cycling team for the Omloop van Borsele junior women’s race taking place from 19-21 April 2013 in the Netherlands.

Amy Hill, Manon Lloyd, Emily Nelson and Rebecca Hunt will compete over the three stages in the Netherlands as part of the Welsh Cycling Junior Programme. Amy Hill claimed overall classification earlier this month at the Energiewacht Tour as part of the Welsh Cycling Junior Programme team.

In addition a Great Britain team has been entered, which includes Wales' Hayley Jones competing alongside Olympic Development Programme athletes Melissa Lowther, Bethany Hayward and Emily Kay.

A third British team, Scott Contessa Epic, will also field a squad in the race.

All three stages in the race start and finish in the town of ‘s-Heerenhoek in the Dutch province of Zeeland. Friday’s first stage is a 13.2-kilometre time-trial, followed by two 72-kilometres stage on differing circuits on the Saturday and Sunday respectively.

In 2012’s junior women’s event, Wales' Elinor Barker claimed the overall winat Omloop van Borsele. This year Elinor Barker and Amy Roberts will return as senior competitors with Wiggle-Honda Pro Cycling in the elite women’s edition.

Wales cycling team for Omloop van Borsele junior women

Amy Hill
Manon Lloyd
Rebecca Hunt
Emily Nelson