Wales complete grand slam to confirm Celtic Cup series win

Wales complete grand slam to confirm Celtic Cup series win

Home » Search

Celtic Cup - Wales v Ireland
Location: East Newport
Event: 15 October 2011

Wales completed a comprehensive four-match series victory against Scotland and Ireland to win the Alistair G Kennedy Celtic Cup when they defeated Ireland by a score of 101-78.

Wales celebrate after completing the grand slam

With Ben Mould unavailable, Wales needed someone to take up the mantle of leading the score charts and it was Cardiff based teenager Jack Harrold, with a creditable 19 points, who combined with home rider Dan Bock to create a formidable spearhead.

New Welsh Champion Danny Harper displayed some fine gating and heat wins (twice from the difficult grid two position) as he comfortably notched an 18 point score. Meanwhile, Aaron Hughes and Mark Carmichael were both impressive in forming another great partnership, which featured in vital heat wins from the outside grids, ably backed-up by contributions from Neil Power, Chris Davies and Nicky Evans.

Ireland were not disgraced and put up a spirited challenge. Lewis Roberts and Adam Stephenson were particularly impressive in the green shirts with Roberts notching a fine 18 points while Stephenson showed tactical awareness in assisting his race-partner on several occasions.

It was Wakes captain Nicky Evans and coach Stuart Raven who stepped forward to jointly receive the presentation of the Celtic Cup, watched by proud team manager Dave Murphy.

Murphy, whose caretaker role ended with the victory, said: "Having been part of the team that beat Scotland and Ireland in 2010, it was good to continue my Celtic Cup involvement, as manager, for these final two matches to complete the grand-slam.

"I've nothing but admiration for the team and the way they went about their task in such a professional manner."


Wales 101: Jack Harrold 19, Danny Harper 18+1, Mark Carmichael 14, Aaron Hughes 12+2, Neil Power 12, Dan Bock 11+2, Nicky Evans 8 and Chris Davies 7+1

Ireland 78: Lewis Roberts 18, Adam Stephenson 14+2, Lee Clarke 10+1, Tom Doyle 10+1, Phil Adams 8, Charlie Rumbold 7, Wayne Clarke 6+1 and Craig Norton 5.