Road: O’Donovan victory in Ythan APR

Home » Road racing

Location: Tarves, Aberdeenshire
Event: 20 May 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Deeside Thistle’s John O’Donovan prevailed in the Ythan CC APR race on Sunday after starting in group three and coming through the field.

The 62-year-old Drumoak rider narrowly beat Michael Fletcher into second place, with both riders recording the same time.

The fastest woman on the day was Julie Erskine, with the 31-year-old Aberdeen Wheelers rider seven seconds down.

Conditions were perfect for cycling, with the sun out and a slight breeze blowing over the 42-mile track.


1 John O’Donovan (Deeside Thistle CC) 1:53:11
2 Michael Fletcher (unattached) @ same time
3 Kelvin White (Deeside Thistle CC) @ 5sec
4 Greg Quinn (Deeside Thistle CC) @ same time
5 Euan Cartlidge (Deeside Thistle) @ same time
6 Andy Duncan (Ythan CC) @ 7sec
7 George Findlater (Moray Cycle RT) @same time
8 Julie Erskine (Aberdeen Wheelers) @ 7sec
9 Ally McGill (Deeside Thistle CC) @ 13sec
10 Kevin Milne (Aberdeen Wheelers) @34sec

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.