Isle of Man Youth Tour kicks off in Douglas

Isle of Man Youth Tour kicks off in Douglas

Home » Road racing

The Sleepwell Hotels Isle of Man Youth Tour began – as it did last year – in glorious sunshine with over 200 riders (including the Under 8, Under 10 and Under 12 support races) taking to the start line on the promenade in Douglas for the prologue time trial.

The Under 16 Boys competition was very close with just five seconds separating the top 10 and Matthew Burke of Backstedt Cycling coming out on top on 1:45 (a time that would have got him seventh in the junior race) – just a second ahead of Mathew Shaw of Solihull CC.

Jim Brown was the first of a trio of riders three seconds back – Alfie George of Speedflex Race Team and Nathan Huynh of Cotswold Veldrijden rounding out the top five.

The Under 16 Girls were pretty closely matched two with Anna Docherty of Clifton CC coming out on top with a 1:56, while Backstedt Cycling’s Elynor Backstedt was a second behind her. Ellie Russell of Speedflex Race Team was third, three seconds behind Docherty with Pfeiffer Georgi of Liv Cycling Club on the same time.

Stage one gallery

Isle of Man Youth Tour Prologue Time Trial, Apr 29 2016

In the Under 14 Boys it was Oscar Nilsson-Julien of VC Londres who secured the yellow jersey for the road stage on day two with 1:54 – tied on time with Emile Alexander of Lichfield City CC.

Oliver Stockwell of Welwyn Wheelers was a second behind the leading duo with Sami Vaudreay of Zappi’s Cycling Club and Bryn Davies of Towy Riders completing the Top 5, two seconds off the lead.

There was slightly more of a spread in the Under 14 Girls – but nothing that is likely to survive the first road stage! Becky Surridge of VC Londres took the overnight lead with a 2:04, a second ahead of Amy Cole of Towy Riders. Jasmine Kent of Speedflex Race Team was two seconds behind Surridge and tied with Eve Barrow of Salt Ayre Cog Set and her team mate Maisy Vasic rounded out the top five two seconds further back.

As the last of the riders finished the sun was starting to set and many of the competitors must have been wondering, as they left the course, whether they would see it again this weekend!


Youth A Boys

1 Matthew Burke Backstedt Cycling 1:45
2 Matthew Shaw Solihull CC at 1sec
3 Jim Brown VCUK PH-MAS Cycling Team at 3sec
4 Alfred George Speedflex Race Team same time
5 Nathan Huynh Cotswold Veldrijden st
6 William Raymond Welwyn Wheelers CC at 4sec
7 Samuel Watson Chevin Trek st
8 Alex Ridehalgh Speedflex Race Team st
9 Theo Modell Team Corley Cycles st
10 Alistair Leivers Speedflex Race Team at 5sec

Youth A Girls

1 Anna Docherty Clifton CC 1:56
2 Elynor Backstedt Backstedt Cycling at 1sec
3 Ellie Russell Speedflex Race Team at 3sec
4 Pfeiffer Georgi Liv Cycling Club - Epic Coaching st
5 Felicity Gledhill Sportcity Velo at 6sec
6 Fiona Turnbull Speedflex Race Team st
7 Lauren Higham Welwyn Wheelers CC at 7sec
8 Lorna Bowler Hillingdon Slipstreamers st
9 Isabel Darvill VC Lincoln st
10 Poppy Wildman Sram Youth Development st

Youth B Boys

1 Oscar Nilsson-Julien VC Londres 1:54
2 Emile Alexander Lichfield City CC st
3 Oliver Stockwell Welwyn Wheelers CC at 1sec
4 Sami Vaudrey Zappis Cycling Club at 2sec
5 Bryn Davies Towy Riders st
6 Jack Rootkin-Gray Solihull CC st
7 George Southby The Yorkshire Mafia st
8 Robert Donaldson Mossley CRT at 3sec
9 Matti Egglestone Beacon Wheelers st
10 Hayden Norris Lichfield City CC st

Youth B Girls

1 Becky Surridge VC Londres 2:04
2 Amy Cole Towy Riders at 1sec
3 Jasmine Kent Speedflex Race Team at 3sec
4 Eve Barrow Salt Ayre Cog Set st
5 Maisy Vasic Salt Ayre Cog Set at 5sec
6 Isabella Escalera VC Londres st
7 Ava Oxley-Szilagyi PH-MAS VCUK Womens Cycling Team st
8 Eluned King Towy Riders at 12sec
9 Melissa Boylin Bolton Hot Wheels CC st
10 Tilly Percy Salt Ayre Cog Set st

Full stage one results

Membership discount for club members