National Youth Circuit Series in Milton Keynes

National Youth Circuit Series in Milton Keynes

Home » Road racing

The fourth round of the British Cycling Youth Circuit Series took place on a technical city centre circuit In Milton Keynes and, while it would finish in blazing sunshine the younger riders had rain and wet roads to contend with.

In the under 8s it was Finlay Tarling of West Wales Cycling Team who took the early lead – breaking away with Joel Hurt of Stockton Wheelers CC and series leader James Brown of Palmer Park Velo.

It was Brown, though, who proved the strongest of the trio comfortably leading home Tarling and Hurt to extend his Series lead. Millie Coleman of Hillingdon Slipstreamers was first of the girls home, ahead of North West Youth Tour winner Carys Lloyd of San Fairy Ann CC.

The rain was still a factor in the under 10s with a bigger bunch holding together in the early stages. By the bell it was down to three - Ben Askey of Lichfield City CC, Lewis Dolan of Marton Race Team and Joshua Tarling of West Wales Cycle Racing Team.

In a close fnish it was Askey who took the win – and extended his series lead – from Tarling and Dolan. Zoe Backstedt of Maindy Flyers Youth Cycling Club was 11th and first girl.

By the time the under 12s started, the rain was easing off - but the roads were still very wet with a large puddle on the corner before the finishing straight. A group of a dozen riders dominated the race with Robert Donaldson of Mossley CRT taking the two primes en route from George Southby of East Bradford CC but by the bell they were strung out and charging for home regardless of the conditions.

Southby took the win from Max Poole of Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo and Aaron Freeman of Chelmer CC in third and Donaldson fourth. North West Youth Tour winner Becky Surridge of VC Londres continued her good form taking the win in the Girls.

By the time the under 14 girls race began, the rain had gone and the sun was out. Although the bunch stayed together, the Primes injected some pace into proceedings with Ellie Park of Glasgow Riderz taking the first and Katie Helsby of Sportcity Velo the second.

The race came back together after the sprints but with the bell the charge was on and the line was strung out, but it still came down to a bunch sprint and it was Poppy Wildman of Nottingham Clarion who took it by a bike length from series leader Anna Docherty of Clifton CC who was half a bike ahead of Pfeiffer Georgi of Giant Cycling Club-Halo Films.

The under 14 Boys were the first to ride on (mostly) dry roads and continuing sunshine. Benjamin Moody of Achieve Skinnergate racing took the first prime from Connor Gallagher, with Gallagher taking second ahead of Alistair Leivers of Blackpool Youth Cycle Association.

At the bell Cavan Walker of Clifton CC and Moody make a break for it but were hauled back and it was another race that came down to a sprint finish - albeit a two-up sprint between Jack Ford of Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club and Leivers - who just missed out on winning his ‘home’ race, the North West Youth Tour.

Leivers just missed out again with Ford taking the Sprint but with Series leader Matthew Burke of Newport Olympic CC only finishing eighth it was Leivers who took over at the top of the series.

After three rounds dominated by Eleanor Dickinson and Jessica Roberts of RST Racing team it was nice to see a different podium in the under 16 girls.

After Elizabeth Bennett of Cardiff JIF had taken the opening Prime and Lauren Murphy - now of Welwyn Wheelers, but a long time member of organizing club Team Milton Keynes - took the second, Henrietta Colborne of Beacon Wheelers and Charlotte Broughton of MG Décor broke away from the pack.

Dickinson and Roberts weren’t far behind and would take third and fourth respectively, but the move worked and Colborne took the win from Broughton.

In the last race of the day there was a good mix of familiar and less familiar names at the front. Second placed in the Series at the start of the day, Oliver Peckover of Sherwood Pines Cycles SRAM RT took the opening Prime from Peter Kibble of Sports Traider Race Team.

The second went to Sigma Sport’s Anthony Anderson, with Peckover second.

It was Daniel Tullett of Specialized Racing who took the win, though, from Peckover and VC Lonrdes duo Ethan Hayter and Fred Wright. Matthew Walls finished sixth to preserve his lead although Peckover narrowed the gap at the top.