Archibald wins 2014 Women’s Cheshire Classic

Archibald wins 2014 Women’s Cheshire Classic

Home » Road racing

Katie Archibald took a solo victory in the Cheshire Classic, round two of the British Cycling Women’s Road Series, and was one of three riders from Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International in the top five as series leader Nicola Juniper strengthened her lead.

Riding in the series for the first time this season Archibald, 20 and from Glasgow, crossed the line just over a minute and a half clear of her teammate Hayley Jones at the end of the 58-mile race, which took in 12 laps of a challenging course near Weaverham.

While Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda) denied Pearl Izumi a 1-2-3 as she pipped Juniper to third by two seconds, fourth was enough for Juniper to boost her early lead in the 11-race British Cycling Women’s Road Series.

Lowri Devey (Abergavenny RC) was inches behind in fifth, and steps up to second overall following seventh place in the first round, the Women’s Tour of the Reservoir, two weeks earlier.

The early laps of the race were characterised by small attacks going off the front but being quickly pulled back, but the bunch was gradually being whittled down in size as the pace proved too high for many.

With two laps to go the decisive move came, with Archibald being joined in a break by team-mate Hayley Jones. The pair quickly gained 50 seconds on a bunch which had been split up, and with many having been pulled out as they were over the time limit, their ability to chase was diminished.

By the end of the penultimate lap Jones found the pace too high as Archibald time-trialled her way to victory in impressive style. At the bell she was around 15 seconds clear, but a lap later she had stretched her lead out to a minute and a half.

“I’m very happy with that result, the whole team is ecstatic at the moment – it’s a good place to be in,” said Archibald afterwards.

“Myself and Sarah (Storey) were pretty keen to get away early on and we thought we could maybe stay away and get the prime but as it happened it came back together and I got it from the lead out, which was plan B.

“It was always the teams intention to go early on and get the result that way. We have Nicola Juniper leading the series at the moment so today was two-fold for us - A, to win the race and B, to keep Nicola up towards the front to keep the series lead, so we ticked both boxes.

“We got Hayley Jones into second place and Nicola in fourth it was a good day for us, we almost got third but Laura (Trott) got that, I don't mind having an Olympic champion sprinkled around.”


1 13 Katie Archibald Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International 2:30:20

2 15 Hayley Jones Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International @ 1:31

3 42 Laura Trott Wiggle Honda @ 1:45

4 16 Nicola Juniper Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International @ 1:47

5 46 Lowri Devey Abergavenny Road Club st

6 81 Lydia Gurley Merlin Cycles st

7 17 Gabriella Shaw Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International st

8 20 Katie Curtis Starley Primal Pro Cycling st

9 5 Molly Weaver Epic Cycles - Scott WRT st

10 2 Anna Christian Epic Cycles - Scott WRT st

11 19 Jane Barr Starley Primal Pro Cycling st

12 12 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness - Vulpine st

13 32 Clemence Copie Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport st

14 66 Elizabeth Holden RST Racing Team st

15 26 Natalie Grinczer Fusion Racing Team st

16 56 Lydia Boylan Velosport - Pasta Montegrappa st

17 83 Rebecca Womersley WyndyMilla - Reynolds st

18 10 Penny Rowson Matrix Fitness - Vulpine st

19 67 Eve Dixon Team 22 st

20 3 Alexie Shaw Epic Cycles - Scott WRT st

21 44 Tamina Oliver Endura Lady Force - WV Zeeuws Vlaanderen st

22 36 Tamiko Butler WyndyMilla - Reynolds st

23 78 Alice Cobb Squadra Donne st

24 11 Jo Tindley Matrix Fitness - Vulpine st

25 73 Alice Barnes T-Mo Racing st

26 58 Jennifer Hudson VC St Raphael st

27 60 Vanessa Whitfield VC St Raphael st

28 54 Helen Ralston Les Filles Racing Team st

29 45 Lucy Chittenden East St Cycles / WyndyMilla-Reynolds st

30 28 Mathilde Pauls Fusion Racing Team st

31 24 Jennifer Taylor Starley Primal Pro Cycling st

32 25 George Schwiening Fusion Racing Team st

33 33 Natalie Creswick Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport st

34 14 Lauren Creamer Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International st

35 1 Karla Boddy Epic Cycles - Scott WRT @ 2:01

36 47 Joanne Blakeley GB st

37 72 Maryka Sennema Kingston Whls CC st

38 43 Emma Trott Boels Dolmans @ 2:12

39 18 Dame Sarah Storey Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International st

40 8 Corrine Hall Matrix Fitness - Vulpine @ 2:34

41 34 Louise Mahe Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport OTL

42 7 Louise Borthwick Matrix Fitness - Vulpine OTL

43 48 Iona Sewell GB OTL

44 6 Hannah Walker Epic Cycles - Scott WRT OTL

45 4 Emily Kay Epic Cycles - Scott WRT OTL

46 80 Gina Riley Chester RC OTL

47 71 Elanor Cadzow Bonito Squadra Corse OTL

48 65 Annasley Park RST Racing Team OTL

49 30 Amy Hill Fusion Racing Team OTL

50 86 Victoria Grimmer Paramount CRT OTL

51 52 Nikki Engelbach Les Filles Racing Team OTL

52 79 Ruth Taylor Manchester Whlrs Club OTL

53 35 Adel Tyson-Bloor Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport OTL

54 27 Elizabeth Malins Fusion Racing Team OTL

55 64 Lauren O'Brien RST Racing Team OTL

56 57 Hayley Simmonds Velosport - Pasta Montegrappa OTL

57 53 Nicole Oh Les Filles Racing Team OTL

58 59 Eleanor Jones VC St Raphael OTL

59 38 Cassie McGoldrick WyndyMilla - Reynolds OTL

DNF 74 Flora Gillies Speg - Project 51 DNF

DNF 62 Lucy Harper Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech DNF

DNF 61 Sophie Black Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech DNF

DNF 82 Frances White Team Jadan DNF

DNF 75 Anda-Jay Burgess Rock And Road Cycles DNF

DNF 49 Nicola Soden GB DNF

DNF 76 Rachel Przybylski WyndyMilla DNF

DNF 63 Paige Milward Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velotech DNF

DNF 39 Keira McVitty WyndyMilla - Reynolds DNF

DNF 31 Emily Barnes Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport DNF

DNF 29 Gillian Taylor Fusion Racing Team DNF

DNF 37 Mary Costello WyndyMilla - Reynolds DNF

DNF 21 Lyndsey Glazier Starley Primal Pro Cycling DNF

DNF 69 Lauren Brown Team Jadan DNF

DQ 40 Hannah Payton WyndyMilla - Reynolds DQ

DNS 9 Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness - Vulpine DNS

DNS 22 Anneliese Heard Starley Primal Pro Cycling DNS

DNS 23 Eileen Roe Starley Primal Pro Cycling DNS

DNS 41 Joanna Rowsell Wiggle Honda DNS

DNS 50 Brit Tate GB DNS

DNS 51 Delia Beddis Les Filles Racing Team DNS

DNS 55 Bryony Board Velosport - Pasta Montegrappa DNS

DNS 68 Jennifer Edwards Team 22 DNS

DNS 70 Kayleigh Brogan Team Thomsons Cycles DNS

DNS 77 Laura Wasley Isle Of Man Cycling Association DNS

Highest 2nd Cat: Nicola Juniper (Pearl Izumi).
Intermediate Sprint: Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi).
La Bataille Prize (Most aggressive rider): Hayley Jones (Pearl Izumi)
Team: Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International.

Membership discount for club members