Road: Brooks battles to another Apres victory

Road: Brooks battles to another Apres victory

Home » Road racing

Location: Preston Park, Brighton
Event: 18 January 2014

The day once again belonged to Simon Brooks at round eight of the Apres Winter League at Brighton's Preston Park Track.

The VC St Raphael rider firstly displayed good tactics by lapping the field alongside the aggressive Matthew Hull (Abellio SFA) and Jeremy Brougham (London Dynamo).

After a short breather, it was business as usual for Brooks who went on alone to gain another lap before attacking yet again for a fine solo victory, with Hull second and Brougham securing a podium place.

The third Cat race saw Dan Thut (London Dynamo) achieve a win for the second consecutive week, after escaping with Kingston Wheeler's Pat Wright to gain a lap on the bunch. Samuel Andrew (Kingston Wheelers) nabbed the win with a sprint finish in the fourth cat race for a maiden victory.

The youths U12/14/16 was a close run thing with Patrick Manning (Great Yarmouth CC) pipping Georg Mew Jensen (Lea Valley Youth CC) at the death with a gritty third place for the tenacious Isaac Wright of Preston Park Youth CC.

There were also wins for an impressive Jack Webb (1st Chard Wheelers) in the U10s and Daniel Allpress of Dorking CC in the U8s races.



1. Simon Brooks VC St Raphael

2. Matthew Hull Abellio SFA Racing

3. Jeremy Brougham London Dynamo

4. Sean McAuliffe Redhill CC

5. Stuart Adair Private

6. Liam Walsh SRAM CC

7. Ross Hallard Hackney CC

8. Stephen Tribe Velosport

9. Scot Bullivant Rock & Road Cycles

10. Brian Hennessey Redhill CC

11. Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers

12. Dan Thut London Dynamo

13. Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon

14. Joe Luckett Team Gwb Activ

DNF Kieran Barber Redhill CC

DNF Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon


1. Dan Thut London Dynamo

2. Pat Wright Kingston Wheelers

3. Joe McConnell Sorby Hinds CC

4. Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers

5. Jeremy Brougham London Dynamo

6. Joe Luckett Team Gwb acTiv

7. Andrew Moore Kingston Wheelers

8. Matt Reid Sussex Nomads

9. Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon

10. Alan Yule Crawley Wheelers

11. Matt Kerr Ipswich BC

12. John Cordner Eastbourne Rovers

13. Matt Hill VO2 Development

14. Laurence Jones PPYCC

15. Mark Williams Kingston Wheelers

16. Zak Corum-Haines VC Jubilee

17. Paul Moore Kingston Wheelers

18. Mark Newnham Worthing Excelsior

19. Ross Hallard Hackney CC

20. Declan Egan Kingston Wheelers

21. Konrad Siebrits Sorby Hinds CC

22. Gary Mainwaring Brighton Mitre

23. Keith Henderson Southborough

24. Trevor Deeble PB Cycle Coaching RT

25. Simon Parker Crawley Wheelers

26. Viktor Kazinec Dulwich Paragon

27. Rob Fuller Brighton Mitre

28. Dan Fagg Brighton Mitre

29. Mo Ahmed London Phoenix

DNF Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon

DNF Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers

DQ Nile Jones iTeam CC


1. Samuel Andrew Kingston Wheelers

2. Roman Pawlowicz Ipswich BC

3. Niall Aitkin Dulwich Paragon

4. T-Y Hsia Kingston Wheelers

5. Brindley Taylor Crawley Wheelers

6. Luke Raistrick Sorby Hinds

7. Laurence Dodd Brighton Mitre

8. Adam Leech Cranleigh CC

9. Steve Allen Dulwich Paragon

10. Gregor Ross Private

11. Claude Autrey London Dynamo

12. Ben Bradley South Down Velo

13. Mark Bennett Kingston Wheelers

14. Nick Davis Kingston Wheelers

15. Javier Arias Gonzales Kingston Wheelers

16. Richard Fish Kingston Wheelers

17. Adam Wells Kingston Wheelers

18. Gez Reeves Crawley Wheelers

19. Rob Flinn Crawley Wheelers

20. Andrew Moore Southdowns Bikes

21. Danny Watts Crawley Wheelers

22. Antony Grey Crawley Wheelers

23. Simon Mercado Private

24. Nigel Smith Southborough & Dist

25. Chris Griggs Crawley Wheelers

26. Jason Goodright Ipswich BC

27. Stuart Greig Redhill CC

28. Alex Beyfus Sussex Nomads

29. Paul Hiscock Southborough & Dist

30. Phil Barella Kingston Wheelers

DNF Greg Amann Sorby Hinds CC

DNF Josh Beattie Sussex Nomads


1. Patrick Manning Great Yarmouth CC

2. Georg Mew Jensen Lea Valley YCC

3. Isaac Wright Preston Park YCC

4. Mostyn Taylor Crocket LVYCC

5. Mathew Shepherd LVYCC

6. Ashley Evans Dorking CC

7. Ben Selfe LVYCC

8. Anna Carter LVYCC

9. Torin Henderson Southborough & DW

10. Harrison Powell LVYCC

11. Ritchie Selfe LVYCC

12. Stan Abbott Stacey Preston Park YCC

13. Louis Bilyard Lea Valley YCC


1. Jack Webb 1st Chard Wheelers

2. Gilbert Cordner Eastbourne Rovers


1.Daniel Allpress Dorking CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.