Road: Adair cruises to confident Apres League victory

Road: Adair cruises to confident Apres League victory

Home » Road racing

Location: Preston Park, Brighton
Event: 11 January 2013

A scintillating performance from Stuart Adair saw him lap the field twice to take victory in the E123 race at round seven of the Apres Hot Recovery Drink Winter League at Preston Park in Brighton.

He first lapped the field in an early break which he instigated, then again later with the help of David Billings (VC St Raphael) and Redhill CC’s Sean McAuliffe, who came in second and third respectively.

The third cat race was a more cagey affair with a long lone breakaway by Kingston Wheeler's Chris Herbert finally being reeled in - 10 out of 10 for effort though. The sprint was won by London Dynamo's Dan Thut, who had also ridden the E123 race and finished fifth.

The fourth cat race proved to be another proper race with much attacking from the start, but nothing stuck and Dulwich Paragon's Chris O'Hearn took the honours.

A good turn out from Lee Valley YCC saw them reap the rewards of their long journey and showed that making the effort really does pay off. Georg Mew Jensen attacked throughout and won the battle, with team-mate Matthew Sheperd second.


1 Stuart Adair
2 David Billings VC St Raphael
3 Sean McAuliffe Redhill CC
4 Kieran Barber Redhill CC
5 Dan Thut London Dynamo
6 Phil Kofman Abellio SFA Racing
7 Scott Bullivant Rock & Road Cycles
8 Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers
9 Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon
10 Stephen Tribe Velosport RT.
11 Sam Evans Dulwich Paragon
12 Rob Fuller Brighton Mitre
DNF John Cordner Eastbourne Rovers
DNF Jason Ginn Southdown

3rd Cat:
1 Dan Thut London Dynamo
2 Mark Newman Worthing Excelsior
3 Lawrence Jones PPYCC
4 Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers
5 Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers
6 Joe Luckett Team GWB Activ
7 Rupert Robinson Crawley Wheelers
8 Matt Reid Sussex Nomads
9 George Higgs Crawley Wheelers 4
10 Trevor Deeble PB Cycle coaching
11 Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon
12 Ross Hallard Hackney CC
13 Leo Tong 5th Floor
14 Kieran Barber Redhill CC
15 James Willerton Dorking CC
16 Samuel Evans Dulwich
17 Sean McAuliffe Redhill CC
18 Phil Kofman Abellio SFA Racing
19 Khan Follina Sorby Hinds CC
20 Dan Fagg Brighton Mitre
21 Zak Corum-Haines VC Jubilee
22 Luke Audas Wyndymilla

4th Cat:
1 Chris O'Hearn Dulwich Paragon
2 Owen Elson Velosport
3 Neil Walters SFA CC
4 Andrew Moore South Downs Bikes
5 Adam Wells Kingston Wheelers
6 Gez Reeves Crawley Wheelers
7 Lawrence Wooley Redhill CC
8 Lewis Knights Ipswich BC
9 Simon Mercado PM
10 Paul Archer Sussex Nomads
11 Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon
12 Steve Allen Dulwich Paragon
13 Tim Johnston SFA
14 Barry Stingmore Kingston Wheelers
15 Alice Lethbridge Kingston Wheelers
16 Jesse Baines PM
17 Simon Dowing Brighton Mitre
18 Paul Newsome Crawley Wheelers
19 Josh Beattie Sussex Nomads
20 Ant Grey Crawley Wheelers
21 Darren Hanes Crawley Wheelers
22 Rob Flinn Crawley Wheelers
23 Andy Andas Wyndymilla
DNF Alex Beyfus Sussex Nomads
DNF Paul Adams Thames Velo

1 Georg Mew Jensen LVYCC
2 Matthew Sheperd LVYCC
3 Ashley Evans Dorking CC
=4 Anna Carter LVYCC
=4 Isla Rush Wyndymilla
6 Ben Selfe LVYCC
7 Ritchie Selfe LVYCC

1 Jack Webb 1st Chard Wheelers
2 Daniel Allpress Dorking CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.