Robins wins opening Apres Winter League round

Home » Road racing

Event: 30 November 2013
Location: Preston Park, Brighton

The first race in the inaugural Apres Winter League saw fine weather, the track in great condition and another win for Isaac Wright from PPYCC in the Youth race giving him a head start in the series over his rivals.

With so much on the line for so many, in what was the last date in the British Cycling calendar on which to gain points, the fourth category race was hotly contested affair.

No bunch finish in this one - splits came early with winner Pierce Cook-Anderson (Kingston Wheelers) staying away with Samuel Evans (Dulwich) and a creditable and lonely third place for Mohammed Ahmed of London Phoenix.

Three stayed away in the third category race with George Fox (45RC) taking the win from Alistair Gurney (Rapha Condor) and junior Zak Corum-Haines from VC Jubilee.

A small field in the main event worked hard to keep a high average speed which resulted in a last lap dash. Ian Robins (Brighton Mitre) made it to the penultimate bend first and despite the efforts of Ryan Visser (Redhill CC) to come around both the outside and inside, Robins showed his strength and narrowly held on for the win.


1. Isaac Wright U14 PPYCC

2. Joe Hill U14 PPYCC

3. Ashley Evans U16 Dorking CC

4. Nick Gill U14 Sutton CC


1. Pierce Cook-Anderson Kingston Wheelers

2. Samuel Evans Dulwich Paragon

3. Mohammed Ahmed London Phoenix

4. Stephen Clark Ipswich Bike Club

5. Matt Palmer Dulwich Paragon

6. Hamish Walker Hants Road Club

7. Peter Lamb PM

8. Richard Giles PM

9. Ian Murray VC10

10. Darren Haynes Crawley Wheelers

11.James Burns PM

12. Clive Goadby Dulwich Paragon

13. Alex Beyfus Sussex Nomads

DNF. Richard Jeynes PM


1. George Fox 45RC

2. Alistair Gurney Rapha Condor

3. Zak Corum-Haines VC Jubilee

4. Jon Shillingford PM

5. Martin Edmonds Brighton Mitre

6. Daniel Fagg Brighton Mitre

7. Chris Herbert Kingston Wheelers

8. Kieran Barber Redhill cc

9. Matt Kerr Ipswich BC

10. Matt Leary In Gear


1. Ian Robins Brighton Mitre

2. Ryan Visser Redhill CC

3. Graham Collins Ipswich Bike Club

4. Brian Hennessey Redhill CC

DNF Livio Nannetti Rapha Condor