TT: Ettles retains Ronnie McDonald Trophy

Home » Road racing

Location: Invergordon, Scotland
Event: 14 September 2013
Report: Mary Eagleson/Snowdon Sports

Elgin’s Peter Ettles (Sandy Wallace Cycles) retained the Ronnie McDonald Trophy when he beat a good field by three quarters of a minute in the Ross-shire Roads CC 10-mile time trial on the A9 near Invergordon.

On a On a dry afternoon in Scotland, 49-year-old Ettles stormed home with an impressive time of 20-53 to beat the runner-up, new veteran Callum Finlayson (Moray Firth CC), from Forres, by 46 seconds.

Derek Stewart (Deeside Thistle CC) won the shield for the fastest veteran on standard which he had previously won seven years ago.


1 Peter Ettles Sandy Wallace Cycles V 0:20:53

2 Callum Finlayson Moray Firth CC V 0:21:39

3 Kenny Riddle Moray Firth CC V 0:22:03

4 Andy Cowie Moray Firth CC V 0:22:03

5 Steven Liddle Ben Wyvis Cycles S 0:22:13

6 Wim Chalmet East Sutherland Wheelers V 0:22:24

7 Norman Skene Granite City Racing Team V 0:22:46

8 Neil Dawson Sandy Wallace Cycles V 0:22:52

9 Alan McCaffrey Ross-shire Roads CC V 0:22:56

10 Mike Gordon Cromarty Firth CC V 0:23:08

11 Stephen Burns West Highland Wheelers V 0:23:19

12 Garry Russell RAF CC S 0:23:24

13 Donald Thomson Ross-shire Roads CC V 0:23:25

14 Mel Fowler Moray Firth CC V 0:23:31

15 Thomas Deas Moray Firth CC YM 0:23:38

16 Rick Wells Moray Firth CC V 0:23:59

17 Graeme Walsh Stirling Bike Club V 0:24:06

18 Dariusz Badyla Cromarty Firth CC S 0:24:19

19 Derek Stewart Deeside Thistle CC V 0:24:23

20 Hector Nicolson Moray Firth CC V 0:24:26

21 Kevin Moir Ross-shire Roads CC V 0:24:44

22 Innis Mitchell Ross-shire Roads CC V 0:24:47

23 William MacRae Cromarty Firth CC S 0:24:56

24 Alec Kitson Nevis Cycles RT V 0:24:58

25 Sandy Fowler unattached S 0:25:04

26 George Grant Forres CC V 0:25:04

27 Mark Dryburgh Ross-shire Roads CC V 0:25:12

28 Laura Nicolson Moray Firth CC F 0:25:24

29 Brian Fraser City of Inverness V 0:25:48

30 Alasdair Washington Caithness CC V 0:26:09

31 Scott MacDonald Cromarty Firth CC V 0:26:22

32 Alan Cook Cromarty Firth CC V 0:27:00

33 Roy Slingsby Moray Firth CC V 0:27:00

34 Katrina Moir Ross-shire Roads CC FV 0:27:38

35 Eric Soane Cromarty Firth CC V 0:27:55

36 Alana Ross Forres CC F 0:29:08

37 John Sinclair Caithness CC V 0:31:05

38 Mike Greaves Ross-shire Roads CC V 0:33:17

39 Murray Grant Forres CC V 0:37:18

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.