Road: Visser edged to Après victory

Road: Visser edged to Après victory

Home » Road racing

Location: Preston Park cycle track, Brighton
Event: 15 September 2013
Report: Matthew Farren/Snowdon Sports

Redhill CC’s Ryan Visser secured victory in the 2/3 race at the second round of the Après September Sessions at the Preston Park track in Brighton on Sunday.

The 29-year-old from Redhill in Surrey, who placed third in the Apres Brighton Bank Holiday Bonanza a fortnight earlier, stepped up to take the win in a bunch sprint with team tactics working out well.

Blustery winds and a cagey pack, orchestrated by a strong Redhill CC team, wouldn’t allow the increasingly strong Graeme Crow to break free. And in the bunch sprint they dominated, with Visser taking the win from Barney Willard (In Gear), while Crow held on for third.

There was also a bunch sprint in the third cat race with first and second going to Hastings and St Leonards team mates Trevor Deeble and Stuart Hodd respectively.

Brazillian Francisco Piai shot away with one lap to go in the fourth cat race, only to be beaten down the back straight by another first racer Leo Tong.

Lone female Susan Freeman (WindyMilla) made a few brave solo efforts, finishing sixth in the sprint.

In the veterans race Martin Smith went from the gun and was left to dangle by the bunch who were controlling the race - or so they thought!

But once again Preston Park favoured the brave with a fresh-looking Smith pulling away to cross the line with a very convincing three quarters of a lap lead, leaving the rest to contest the sprint which South Downs sprinter Matt Bubear pipped on the line. Nigel Powell took the over 50 honours.

Catford under 16s Matt Webber lapped the under 14 crop with Olly Nixon winning the sprint in the under 14s.

Victories for Zoe Algar (under 8s), Harvey Algar (under 10s) and Caitlin Peters (under12s) all proved that you have to be in it to win it!


1. Ryan Visser Redhill CC
2. Barny Willard In Gear
3. Graeme Crow Twickenham
4. Chris Wilkinson Dulwich
5. Matthew Bubear South Downs Bikes
6. Frank Kilsby Hargroves CC
7. Livro Nannetti Rapha Condor
8. Gareth Dickinson Farnborough Camberley CC
9. Brian Hennessey Redhill CC
10. Andrew Corter PNE CC

1.Trevor Deeble Hastings & St. Leonards CC
2. Stuart Hodd Hastings & St. Leonards CC
3.Luke Taylor Kingston Wheelers
4.James Danvers Brighton Mitre
5.James Wright Charlotteville CC
6.Jon Hicks Blazing Saddles
7. Martin Edmonson Brighton Mitre
8. Mike Anderson VC St. Raphael
DNF Frazer Clifford Pivot Boom Pods

1. Leo Tong Private Member
2. Francisco Piai Brighton Mitre
3. Darren Rule CC Sudbury
4. James Ash JMS Cycles
5. Jonty Talon Brighton Mitre
6. Susan Freeburn Windymilla
7. Paul Buckley Thames Velo
8. David Harris Eastbourne Rovers
9. Geoffrey Eyre-Walter VC Jubilee
10. Jake Hill Team PCC

Masters 40+
1. Martin Smith AW Cycles
2. Matt Bubear South Downs Bikes
3.James Wright Charlotteville
4.Brian Hennessey Redhill
5. Graeme Crow Twickenham
6. James Horan South Downs Bikes

Masters 50+
1. Nigel Powell VC St Raphael
2. Paul Buckley Thames Velo

Under 8s: Zoe Algar PPYCC
Under 10s: Harvey Algar PPYCC
Under 12s: Caitlin Peters Fareham Wheelers

Under 14s:
1. Olly Nixon VO2 Development Team
2. Jack Algar VO2 Development Team
3. Isaac Wright PPYCC
4. Joe Hill PPYCC

Under 16s: Matt Webber Catford CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.