Road: Atkins wins again at Hillingdon

Road: Atkins wins again at Hillingdon

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon Cycle Circuit, London
Event: 31 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Lewis Atkins (Pedal Heaven RT) sprinted to victory from a three-man breakaway in the E/1/2 race at BC West Thames 22.

In exceptionally fine weather 47 starters set out to complete 60km/38 mile and an early break of six riders went from the gun maintaining an advantage of 20 seconds.

Due to the pace of the breakaway six was whittled down to four with a lap to go and then Tony Gibb surprisingly sat up to drift to seventh place as the chasers caught him.

Atkins, aged 26, from West Drayton, made no mistake as he sprinted to his eighth win of the season ahead of Adam Brittain and coming home for third was Darren Barclay (Artic Air Conditioning).

In the fourth category race Shane Stevens from Devizes took his first ever race win ahead of Ben Voller and in third place was Anthony Jarrett (Finsbury Park CC).



1 Lewis Atkins, Pedal Heaven RT

2 Adam Brittain, High Wycombe CC

3 Darren Barclay, Arctic Air Conditioning

4 Jake Waller, Team Spirit

5 Jake Hales, IG Sigma Sport

6 Tom Smith, Felt/Colbourne

7 Tony Gibb, PM

8 Sean Dines, Team Corley

9 Warwick McCullough, Dulwich Paragon

10 Toby Neare, VC St Raphael

11 Phil Holloway, Southend Wh

12 Harry Franklin, De Ver Cycles

13 Number not recognised

14 John McClelland, Prestige VC

15 Henry Dawson, Prestige VC

16 John Canning, I-Ride Co.UK

17 Richard Jerome, Willesden CC

18 Sam Humpherson, Look Mum No Hands

19 Malcolm Freeman, High Wycombe CC

20 Tom Sefton, Palmer Park Velo

21 Ross Hallard, Hackney CC

22 Kevin Argent, La Fuga/Sigma

23 Simon Oxenham, VC 10

24 Number not recognised

25 Henry Fawrell, Welwyn Wh

27 Amhad Vidi, Norwood Paragon

28 Noah Banner, Nuun RT

29 Number not recognised

30 Russell Painter, Norwood Paragon

31 Frazier Carr, A W Cycles

32 Dominic Gabellini, Rapha/Condor

33 Leo Lerner, V02 Development Team

34 Riyadh Khamis, Personal Bike Fit

4th category:

1 Shane Stevens, Army CU

2 Ben Voller, Twickenham CC

3 Anthony Jarrett, Finsbury Park CC

4 Mike Harris, Twickenham CC

5 Jamie Bishop, East London Velo

6 Adam Rowles, PM

7 Alex Grangehides, London Dynamo

8 Tom Begg, unattached

9 Ollie Blagdon, High Wycombe CC

10 Guy Rowles, Charlotteville CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members