Road: Bartlett solos to CDNW victory at Wincham

Road: Bartlett solos to CDNW victory at Wincham

Home » Road racing

Location: Wincham, Northwich
Event: 25 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports/ Ben Goddard

Chris Bartlett (Metaltek-Knights of Old RT) attacked from a leading group of four riders with 10 kilometres to go to record a fine solo victory in round 18 of the CDNW League at Wincham.

On a rolling 10-km course, 44 starters set out to complete ten laps with attacks going from the off and riders chipping off the front until, with five laps to go, a front group of ten riders established themselves at the head of the race.

Due to the size of the breakaway they didn’t work well together until with two laps to go a touch of wheels meant the size of the front group went down to four.

With just over a lap to go Bartlett broke away on his own and soloed the rest of the way for his second win in two days after winning at Darley Moore on Saturday.

After being unable to find the top spot before this season, he made it two wins in two days as he finished with a gap of 44 seconds on the chasers.

Leading the rest home for second place was Michael Ashurst, from Wigan, followed by his Biketrek team-mate Jacob Tipper in third.

“After the touch of wheels in the break and due to fatigue in some of the other riders left in the breakaway I felt strong enough to go on my own,” said 27-year-old Bartlett, .from Ipswich.

“With just over a lap to go up a drag I noticed I had a small gap so I kept on going as I didn’t fancy my chances in the sprint.

“Hopefully I can make it a triple weekend after winning yesterday and today, I am riding the Metaltek GP tomorrow in my build-up to the Tour of Bulgaria.”

In the women’s race over a shorter 44-mile distance, Elizabeth Malins (Abergavenny RC) also soloed to victory winning by nearly two minutes.

Based in Northampton, 28-year-old Malins recorded her second win of the season after an earlier success at Mallory Park.

Heading the charge home nearly two minutes later for second place was Joanne Blakeley (Champion System/Maxgear/Base) ahead of her team-mate Lauryn Therin.


1 Chris Bartlett Metaltek-Knights of Old 1-34-10

2 Michael Ashurst Biketreks RA @ 44 sec

3 Jacob Tipper Biketreks RA @ 50 sec

4 Julian Pearson Teamwallis CHH Racing Team st

5 Tim Lawson Wheelbase/Altura st

6 Mark Perry Dirtwheels Cycles st

7 Gareth McGuinness Energy CC st

8 Simon Bridge Manchester Wheelers st

9 James Dunlop Biketreks RA st

10 Steven Fidler Dave Hinde Racing Team st

11 Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC st

12 John Findley Bill Nickson Cycles RT st

13 David Lowe Newcastle 200 st

14 Karl Freeman Team Wheelguru st

15 Kristian Zentek Team Leapfrog st

16 Alex Jones 4 Star Racing st

17 Paul Cheetham Team st

18 Samuel Jackson Racing Team @ 1:04

19 Leigh Cowell Kuota Spinergy GSG @ 1:10

20 Ryan Pike High on Bikes @ 8:09

21 Adam Britton Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

22 Steve Abbott Team Wallis st

23 Andrew Udall Mammoth Lifestyle st

24 Martyn Gordon Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

25 Oliver Payton Cycle Sport Pendle st

26 Robert Richardson Biketreks RA st

27 Lee Carter Ribble Valley CRC st

28 Luke Taylor Kingston Wheelers st

29 Nick Giles Fibrax Wrexham RC st

30 Mathew Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC st

31 David Kelly St Helens CRC st

32 Kristian Spreckley Withington Wheelers st

33 Darran Acton Leapfrog st

34 Giles Bett Dave Hinde Racing Team st

35 Tom Gibson Kent Valley RC st

36 Wayne Greenhalgh Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

37 Simon Vazquez Chorlton Velo @ 2 laps

1 Elizabeth Malins Abergavenny RC 1-48-18

2 Joanne Blakeley Champion System/Maxgear/Base @ 1:55

3 Lauryn Therin Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

4 Brit Tate GB st

5 Lydia Gurley Uni of Birmingham st

6 Amy Gornall Scott Contessa Epic @ 02:00

7 Nikola Butler VC St Raphael st

8 Heather Bamforth Stretford Wheelers st

9 Nichola Soden Champion System/Maxgear/Base st

10 Charlotte Baker st

11 Sarah Griffiths Manchester Whlrs Club st

12 Ruth Taylor Manchester Whlrs Club st

13 Vanessa Whitfield VC St Raphael st

14 Delia Beddis Dirtwheels Cycles st

15 Helen Gardiner VC Briston @ 02:05

16 Joanne Street Manchester Whlrs Club st

17 Clarke Miller Team 22 st

18 Victoria Hood Team Swift @ 02:13

19 Alexa Mair Edinburgh RC st

20 Zoe Armstrong Scott Contessa Epic @ 02:34

21 Fiona Beard Clifton CC @ 02:50

22 Jess Atkinson Team 22 @ 04:46

23 Sarah Rose Team 22 @ 10:26

24 Claire Martin Edinburgh RC @ 13:00

25 Claire Rutherford WheelGuru @ 18:00

26 Jessica Evans New Brighton CC st

27 Laura Stafford Manchester Whlrs Club @ 1 lap

28 Nicola Fox Manchester Whlrs Club @ 2 laps

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.