Road: Askham in Rockingham handicap win

Road: Askham in Rockingham handicap win

Home » Road racing

Location: Rockingham Raceway, Corby, Northants
Event: 8 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

The third-category group had their day as first-time visitor Simon Askham (Leicester Forest CC) took the honours in the 11th round of the Northants CRA handicap series at Rockingham Raceway.

Making the most of an increased advantage over the scratch group of second category riders, they caught the fourth-category group – who themselves had been given an extra two minutes this week – at half-distance and then held off their pursuers for the rest of a high-speed hour-long race on an extended circuit to finish 20 seconds clear.

A winner at Mallory Park last month, 36-year-old Askham won the sprint ahead of Darren Howitt (Clay Cross RT) and Wayne Tunnah (St Neots CC).


1 Simon Askham (Leicester Forest CC)
2 Darren Howitt (Clay Cross RT)
3 Wayne Tunnah (St Neots CC)
4 Rory Havis (St Ives CC)
5 Bartlomiej Kieres (Bourne Wheelers)
6 Jason Burrill (Bourne Wheelers)
7 Justin Garon (Arbis-Colbert Cycles RT)
8 James Gelsthorpe (Bourne Wheelers)
9 Simon Hebblethwaite (Peterborough CC)
10 Stuart Sargeant (Arbis-Colbert Cycles RT)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.