Road: Liam Glen wins Clieves Hill Road Race

Road: Liam Glen wins Clieves Hill Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Ormskirk, Lancashire
Event: 4 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Liam Glen powered away from the group to take a superb solo win in the High on Bikes Clieves Hill Road Race on Sunday.

The 22-year-old Wheelbase Altura rider finished the course in 2:11:40, 49 seconds ahead of Buxton CC’s Lee Baldwin.

With Glen away on his own, the battle for second place took presidence and it was Baldwin who snatched it, leading 4 Star Racing’s Michael Harrison by four seconds.

Kuota-Spinergy rider Leigh Covel was six seconds further down in fourth and then there was a gap of almost a minute back to John Findlaey (Bill Nickson Cycles) in fifth.

Last year’s winner, veteran Gareth McGuiness, finished down in eighth.


1 Liam Glen Wheelbase Altura MGD 02:11:40

2 Lee Baldwin Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles @ 49 sec

3 Michael Harrison 4 Star Racing @ 53 sec

4 Leigh Cowel Kuota - Spinergy - GSG @ 59 sec

5 John Findley Bill Nickson Cycles RT @ 01:50

6 Roy Holmes Bott Cycle Team @ 02:11

7 Steven Fidler Dave Hinde Racing Team @ 2:35

8 Gareth McGuinness Energy Cycles @ 2:43

9 Luke Beswick Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles st

10 David Williams Kuota - Spinergy - GSG @ 03:00

11 Tom Bracegirdle Biketreks Racing Academy st

12 William Corden Lyme RC st

13 Jeff Vernon Birkenhead North End CC @03:02

14 Philip Gray Kuota - Spinergy - GSG st

15 Daniel Blackwell Team-Elite/Paul Bethell Electrical @ 03:06

16 Karl Smith Private member @ 03:37

17 Jake Cowen Biketreks Racing Academy @ 04:07

18 Aidan Holgate North Lancashire RC st

19 Sandy Lockett Biketreks Racing Academy @ 04:11

20 Lee Carter Ribble Valley CRC st

21 Ryan Pike High On Bikes @ 04:18

22 John Bamford Team Leapfrog st

23 Robert Lockhart Cyclesport International RT st

24 John Clegg Ribble Valley CRC st

25 Joseph Robinson Wills Wheels Cycling Club st

26 Spencer Coltman southport cycling club @ 04:20

27 Fred Bamforth Stretford Wheelers @ 04:26

28 Thomas Walsh Team Leapfrog st

29 Sam Dobson Unattached st

30 Alex Jones 4 Star Racing @ 04:36

31 Darran Acton Team Leapfrog st

32 James Meadows Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC @ 04:40

33 John Crook Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC st

34 Darran Young Bill Nickson Cycles RT st

35 Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC st

36 Dylan Yates High On Bikes @ 04:55

37 Rob Shirley BC Private Member @ 05:02

38 Andrew Wright Bott Cycle Team st

39 Adam Newell Horwich CC - 4 Season Cycles @ 06:06

40 Joshua Vincent Bott Cycle Team @ 06:13

41 Matthew Williams-Jones University of Sheffield Cycling Club st

42 Alan Heath Unattached @ 08:00

43 Heather Bamforth Stretford Wheelers @ 09:00

Prime 1: Lee Baldwin Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles

Prime 2: Roy Holmes Bott Cycle Team

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.