Road: Byrne powers to CDNW victory at Ulverston

Road: Byrne powers to CDNW victory at Ulverston

Home » Road racing

Location: Bardsea, Ulverston
Event: 28 July 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Dillon Byrne (Champion System/Maxgear) continued his good form to take victory in the E/1/2 race at round 14 of the CDNW league at Ulverston.

On one of the toughest circuits in the series riders in the E/1/2 race competed over 120km/75miles.

Byrne escaped the field on-his-own after just ten miles and then saw his gap increase to a maximum one minute 45 seconds.

Then on the last lap of the eight lap the gap had come down to 40 seconds before team-mate John Rigby jumped across the gap with half a lap to go and the two built up a lead 1 minute 11 seconds by the finish.

Byrne, aged 21, from Blackpool got the better of Rigby to take his 11th win of the season and his second win in the CDNW RR League finishing the 120km in 3 hours 2 minutes.

Coming home in second place was his team-mate Rigby, from Skelmersdale and coming home on his own to take third place 1 minute 11 seconds behind the leaders was Jamie Kennedy, from Glasgow.

Byrne said: “I really didn’t expect to ride away on my own for over 60 miles I just road away and nobody came with me.

“It was a very tough day as the course had a few hard climbs and it was also really windy but I wanted a good workout before the Suir Valley 3-day in Ireland which I am riding next week.”

The 3/4 category riders competed over 90km/56 miles and unlike the elite race the peloton stayed largely together with the first 15 riders separated by a second.

The winner and strongest up the finishing climb was mountain bike specialist Ben Trotter, aged 27, from Poynton who took his first ever road win.

Just one second behind in second place was 20-year-old local lad Hamish Fletcher-Cooney and taking third place was Steven Baker (Army Cycling Union).



1 Dillon Byrne Champion System/Maxgear/Base

2 John Rigby Champion System/Maxgear/Base

3 Jamie Kennedy Paisley Velo race Team @ 1:11

4 Stephen Abbott Team CHH Racing Teaam @ 1:46

5 Matthew Pinkington Metaltek - knights of old @ 1:48

6 Lee Baldwin Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles st

7 Stuart Percival GB Fire Service st

8 Samuel Jackson racing Team @ 3:11

9 John Findley Bill Nickson Cycles RT @ 13:41

10 Richard Bickley Border City Wheelers @ 13:49

11 Luke Beswick Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles @ 15:00

12 Ryan Pike High on Bikes @ 25:00

13 Oliver Payton Cycle Sport Pendle st

14 Dane Walker Weaver Valley CC st

15 James Claydon Bill Nickson Cycles RT st


1 Ben Trotter Macclesfield Wheelers

2 Hamish Fletcher-Cooney Lakes Road Club @ 1 sec

3 Steven Baker Army Cycling Union st

4 Tim Gill Ilkley CC st

5 Adam Pratt Rock to Roll Cycles st

6 Matthew Atkinson Durham University Cycling Club st

7 Aaron Handley Bike Box Alan st

8 Christopher Taylor Border City Whls st

9 Matt Gott West Pennine CC st

10 Philip Gray Kuota - Spinergy - GSG st

11 John Dodgin Biketreks Racing Academy st

12 John Bamford Team Leapfrog st

13 Brian Pearson Lakes RC st

14 Martin Podmore Unattached st

15 Howard Lindow Lakes RC st

16 Chris Anderson Biketreks Racing Academy @ 13 sec

17 David Crowley Bill Nickson Cycles RT @ 28 sec

18 Martyn Gordon Maxgear RT @ 8:39

19 Daniel Chaffer Chorlton Velo @ 10:00

20 Mathew Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC @ 11:48

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.