Road: Baines takes Elite Hog Hill win

Road: Baines takes Elite Hog Hill win

Home » Road racing

Location: Redbridge Cycling Centre, Hainault, Essex
Event: 27 July 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Winner of last month’s Neil Gardner Memorial road race, Mark Baines (Spirit Bikes RT) chalked up his second victory of the season in the feature elite race of Shaftesbury CC’s criterium meeting on the Hog Hill circuit in Essex.

The 27-year-old, from Aylesbury, came home ahead of Andrew Nichols ( and Michael Smith (Team Corley Cycles) after 75 minutes of racing.

In a full programme of events, there were senior wins as well for Thomas Bruno (Eagle RC), in his first race of the year, and Laura Greenhalgh (Twickenham CC).


1 Mark Baines (Spirit Bikes RT)
2 Andrew Nichols (
3 Michael Smith (Team Corley Cycles)
4 Wojciech Szlachta (
5 Alex Camier (Pedal Heaven RT)
6 Chris Dredge (Spirit Bikes RT)
7 Jerzy Kuzminski (High Wycombe CC)
8 Anthony Moye (Velo29-Blackhawk)
9 Darren Barclay (Arctic SRAM RT)
10 Adam Brittain (High Wycombe CC)

1 Thomas Bruno (Eagle RC)
2 Ralph Mullan (Shaftesbury CC)
3 Harley Matthews (Strada-Sport)
4 Gareth Turner (Autostrasse Porsche RT)
5 Joshua Voulters (Rapha Condor CC)
6 Stephen Tribe (Velosport)

1 Laura Greenhalgh (Twickenham CC)
2 Mhairi MacKenzie (London Phoenix CC)
3 Emma Towers (Twickenham CC)

1 Paul Roberts (BC Private Member)
2 Pete Dyson (BC Private Member)
3 Pedro Lopes (BC Private Member)

Women: Jessamy Robinson (BC Private Member)

1 Martin Salmon (RV08 Dudenhofen)
2 Andy Brown (Stirling BC)
3 Chris Jackson (Strada-Sport)
4 Will Mapus-Smith (West Suffolk Wheelers)
5 Matt Bridges (Strada-Sport)
6 Harrison Jones (VO2 Development Squad)
Girls: Maddy Henderson (Essex Roads CC)

1 Alexander Tarlton (Lee Valley Youth CC)
2 Laurence Lisher (Green Arrow CRT)
3 Thomas Burnett (VC de Londres)
Girls: Louise Surridge (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)

1 Irfan Zaman (Bigfoot Go-Ride)
2 Tom Gloag (VC de Londres)
3 Oliver Knight (Team MK)
Girls: Becky Surridge (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)

1 Joe Kiely (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 James Fraser (CC Ashwell)
3 Daniel Hall (Colchester Rovers CC)
Girls: Maya Teufel-Tarlton (Lee Valley Youth CC)

1 James Brown (Palmer Park Velo)
2 Joseph Hadley (Bedfordshire RCC)
3 Alfie Cullender (Lee Valley Youth CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.