Preview: 2013 National Women's Road Race Series - Sheffield Grand Prix

Preview: 2013 National Women's Road Race Series - Sheffield Grand Prix

Home » Road racing

Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Event: 24 July 2013

| |

The 2013 National Women's Road Series nears its conclusion with the Browns Sheffield Grand Prix on Wednesday.

Series leader Anne Ewing (Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team) could have moved closer to the overall title in the city centre criterium but her absence gives the nearest chasers a valuable chance to close the gap ahead of Sunday’s Ryedale Grand Prix before the series dénouement in Stafford.

Recently crowned national criterium champion Hannah Barnes (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling) lies second, 57 points adrift of Ewing and will relish the timing of her speciality in the calendar.

Current standings

1. Anne Ewing 238
Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

2. Hannah Barnes 181
MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling

3. Eileen Roe 157
Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

Johnson Health Tech Series winner Barnes had a low key two days at the Essex Giro, won by Bethany Hayward (Scott Contessa Epic), but it proved a mere blip as the 20-year-old went on to regain the national criterium title she held in 2011 with a sprint victory in Yorkshire.

A repeat performance would put her within touching distance of Ewing though the Scotswoman is still well placed to follow in the footsteps of teammate Sarah Storey to clinch overall series success.

With third place Eileen Roe (Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team) over eighty points behind her colleague Ewing, Barnes is realistically the only challenger remaining.

Essex Giro 2-day winner Hayward will miss the midweek race but teammates Amy Gornall, Laura Wasley and Alice Barnes – who won the national junior women title at the weekend’s mountain bike cross-country championships – can continue Scott Contessa Epic’s fine form.

Another British mountain bike champion, under 23 women’s victor Bethany Crumpton (Hargroves Cycles), swaps the trails of Cathkin Braes for the streets of Sheffield having won in Scotland on Sunday.

There is a also an appearance for Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling’s Joanna Rowsell and although she will have no teammates the team pursuit Olympic gold medallist is more than capable of challenging for honours. Wiggle and Great Britain teammates Amy Roberts and Elinor Barker have already collected wins, at the CDNW Surf n Turf and the Otley Grand Prix respectively.

The women’s race begins at 7pm with riders competing around the circuit for approximately an hour, with each lap just over 1.4-kilometre and the start and finish on Pinstone Street.

Start list

No / Name / Surname / Club / Team Name / Category
1 Emma Grant Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 2nd
2 Corrine Hall Matrix Fitness Racing Academy Elite
3 Melissa Lowther Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 2nd
4 Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 1st
5 Joanna Tindley Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 1st
6 Hannah Walker Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 1st
7 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness Racing Academy 2nd
8 Hannah Barnes MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling Elite
9 Karla Boddy MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 1st
10 Melissa Brand MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 2nd
11 Hayley Edwards MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 2nd
12 Adela Carter Team Hope Factory Racing 3rd
13 Lyndsey Glazier Team Hope Factory Racing 2nd
14 Annabel Simpson Team Hope Factory Racing 2nd
15 Rachael Walker Team Hope Factory Racing 4th
16 Alice Barnes Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
17 Amy Gornall Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
18 Laura Wasley Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
19 Laura Murray Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team 2nd
20 Eileen Roe Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team 1st
21 Penny Rowson Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team 1st
22 Molly Weaver Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team 1st
23 Bryony Board Glendene CC 2nd
24 Vittoria Bussi Zappi's Ladies Team 2nd
25 Nikola Butler VC St Raphael 2nd
26 Elanor Cadzow Welwyn Whls CC 3rd
27 Lauren Creamer ISCorp Cycling/NCSF 2nd
28 Jennifer Edwards Rhos On Sea Cycling Club 2nd
29 Flora Gillies Team ASL360 2nd
30 Louise Mahe Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport 2nd
31 Keira McVitty Team Zenith/ 2nd
32 Kelly Moore private member 3rd
33 Lauren O'Brien RST Racing Team 2nd
34 Joanna Rowsell Wiggle Honda Elite
35 Nicola Soden Champion System/Maxgear/Base 2nd
36 Brit Tate GB 2nd
37 Ruth Taylor Manchester Whlrs Club 2nd
38 Olivia Tomlinson We Love Mountains Racing Team 3rd
39 Rebecca Womersley Aire Valley Racing Team 3rd
40 Helen Wyman Kona/ FSA Factory Team 2nd
41 Beth Crumpton Hargroves Cycles RT Elite


Watch the team live
Membership discount for club members