Road: Rowlands in Saighton photo-finish win

Road: Rowlands in Saighton photo-finish win

Home » Road racing

Location: Saighton, Chester
Event: 21 July 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Rookie Sam Rowlands (Seamons CC) took his first road win by the width of a tyre from Matt Cartlidge (Stone Wheelers) in a photo-finish to a fast and highly-competitive 50-mile Circuit of Saighton in Cheshire.

After several early unsuccessful moves, junior Harry Shackleton (Team Elite) jumped away and held off the bunch for nearly two seven-mile laps to take the first prime before he was reeled in.

Several other small breaks followed before the race-winning move was made by a group of four riders – Rowlands, Matt Cartlidge, John Clegg (Ribble Valley CRC) and Thomas Cartlidge (Stone Wheelers).

The chasing peloton, led by Scott and Brad Smith of promoting club Birkenhead North End CC, held the break to a gap of around a minute for the rest of the race, but with the second prime going to Matt Cartlidge, the four stayed away to the finish where Rowlands’s victory was only confirmed after the judges had scrutinised the photo finish.

Keith Jones (Birkenhead North End CC ) brought the bunch home in fifth place some 40 seconds later.


1 Sam Rowlands Seamons CC

2 Matthew Cartlidge Stone Whls CC

3 John Clegg Ribble Valley CRC

4 Thomas Brazier Evesham & District Whls CC

5 Keith Jones Birkenhead North End CC

6 Mark Hassall Dave Hinde RT

7 Andrew Noble Moonglu RT

8 Stephen Smith Stockport Clarion CC

9 James Eastbury Chester RC

10 Geoff Burgess Stockport Clarion CC

11 Jimmy Smith Chester RC

12 Mark Donnelly Birkenhead North End CC

13 Nick Hall Bury Clarion CC

14 Ian Holbrook Stone Whls CC

15 Jonathan Huck Adidas Group CC

16 Joshua Vincent Bott Cycle Team

17 Mark Westwood BC Private Member

18 Brad Smith Birkenhead North End CC

19 Richard Rees Ystwyth CC

20 Duncan McLaren Stockport Clarion CC

21 Simon Arundel Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC

22 Nigel Kershaw BC Private Member

23 David Grindley North Cheshire Clarion

24 Richard Johnson Wills Wheels CC

25 Mark Astles Dave Hinde RT

26 John Bamford Team Leapfrog

27 Edward Mitchell Sheffrec CC

28 Andrew Wright Bott Cycle Team

29 Harry Shackleton Team-Elite/Paul Bethell Electrical

30 Alan Heath BC Private Member

31 Gina Riley Chester RC

32 Adam Sant St Helens CRC

33 Justin Dowling Stockport Clarion CC

34 David Zelaskowski Port Sunlight Wheelers

35 David Beachill Stocksbridge CC

36 Stuart Hannah Birkenhead North End CC

37 Scott Smith Birkenhead North End CC

38 Michael Garner Birkenhead North End CC

39 Ryan Forster 4 Star Racing

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.