Road: Goldsworthy in Moray Firth Two-Day win

Road: Goldsworthy in Moray Firth Two-Day win

Home » Road racing

Location: Cromarty, Highland
Event: 20-21 July 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Time trial specialist Silas Goldsworthy (Sandy Wallace Cycles) showed his road skills to build on a healthy advantage from the opening prologue and secure overall victory in Moray Firth CC’s two-day stage race.

The Edinburgh 27-year-old was fastest of the 73 riders on the 4.1-mile time trial from Jemimaville to Cromarty, beating second-placed Tom Arnstein (Team ASL360) by 13 seconds, and finished safely in the main field on both road stages to retain a seven-second aggregate winning margin over David Anderson (Granite City RT) with Arnstein a further three seconds back in third place.

Anderson outsprinted Euan Pope (Glasgow RC) to win the first 48-mile road stage with Arnstein leading in the rest seven seconds later after two laps of a circuit including the climbs of Mount Eagle and Mount High before the run back to the finish in Cromarty.

After time bonuses, it left Goldsworthy with a seven-second advantage over Anderson and the gap was the same after the three-lap, 50-mile final stage which was won by the promoting club’s Michael Henderson in a bunch sprint.


1 Silas Goldsworthy (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 8-42
2 Tom Arnstein (Team ASL360) 8-55
3 Allan Mill (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 8-57
4 Finlay Young (BC Private Member) 8-58
5 Barry McGurk (Glasgow RC) 9-00
=6 Ross Laidlaw (Gala CC) 9-01
=6 Gavin Shirley ( 9-01

Stage 1
1 David Anderson (Granite City RT) 2-01-41
2 Euan Pope same time
3 Tom Arnstein at 7 sec
4 Finlay Young
5 Fraser Martin (Perth United CC)
6 Gavin Shirley
7 Kevin Barclay (
8 Simon Van Bellen (Aberdeen Wheelers)
9 William Crawford (Granite City RT)
10 Kenneth Riddle (Moray Firth CC) all same time

Stage 2
1 Michael Henderson (Moray Firth CC) 1-59-43
2 Fraser Martin
3 Tom Arnstein
4 Brian Duncan (Granite City RT)
5 Ross Mallen (RAF CC)
6 Charles Fletcher (Cairngorm CC)
7 Finlay Young
8 Chris Pitlblado (Moray Firth CC)
9 Gavin Shirley
10 Douglas Taylor (Deeside Thistle CC) all same time

1 Silas Goldsworthy 4-10-13
2 Tom Arnstein at 7 sec
3 David Anderson same time
4 Finlay Young at 16 sec
5 Euan Pope at 18 sec
6 Barry McGurk same time
7 Gavin Shirley at 19 sec
8 Michael Henderson same time
9 Simon Van Bellen at 21 sec
10 Kevin Barclay at 23 sec

1 Michael Henderson 20
2 David Anderson 18
3 Tom Arnstein 16

King of the Mountains
1 Euan Pope 18 pts
2 David Anderson 13
3 Michael Henderson 10

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.