TT: Narrow win for Goldsworthy in Ian Walls Memorial

Home » Road racing

Location: Bishopton, Renfrewshire
Event: 13 July 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Four seconds covered the top three riders as Silas Goldsworthy (Sandy Wallace Cycles) claimed a narrow victory in Glasgow Wheelers’ Ian Walls Memorial 10-mile time trial.

The 27-year-old Edinburgh rider covered the Bishopton course in 20-32 for a winning margin of just two seconds over Iain Grant (Dooley’s Cycles RT) with his own team-mate Alan Thomson a further second away in third place.

The field included three riders who had broken 20 minutes this season – Goldsworthy, Grant and Ben Peacock – but despite the sunny conditions, hopes of a super-fast day were blown away by a strong westerly wind.

Grant secured the Ian Walls Memorial Trophy as best veteran on age-related standard times, his plus of 5-35 proving five seconds too good for Davie Millar (Glasgow Couriers), the winner in each of the previous six years.


1 Silas Goldsworthy (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 20-32
2 Iain Grant (Dooleys Cycles RT) 20-34
3 Alan Thomson (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 20-35
4 Chris Smart (Paisley Velo RT) 20-58
5 Ben Peacock (Paisley Velo RT) 21-00
6 Gerry McGarrity (Inverclyde Velo) 21-08
7 Barry McGurk (Glasgow RC) 21-19
8 Allan Mill (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 21-30
9 Jim Cusick (Glasgow Couriers) 21-44
10 Nick Tryon (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA) 21-44

Woman: Lynsey Curran (Glasgow Couriers) 24-34
Youth: Stuart Turvey (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 23-48
Veterans on standard: Iain Grant +5-35

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.