Preview: 2013 National Women's Road Race Series - Essex Giro 2-day

Preview: 2013 National Women's Road Race Series - Essex Giro 2-day

Home » Road racing

Location: Great Chesterford, Essex
Event: 13-14 July 2013

| |

The National Women’s Road Race Series reaches a potentially pivotal weekend with the Essex Giro 2 Day.

A feverishly fought series has yielded six separate winners so far and left just 55 points between the top five.

Three stages await riders in north-east London with Saturday’s 13-kilometre time trial and 65-kilometre kermesse prior to a 105-kilometre road race on Sunday.

With additional points available for individual stage honours as well as the final overall classification there is the prospect of wholesale changes in the standings.

Anne Ewing’s (Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team) absence will undoubtedly see her relinquish the lead with Hannah Barnes (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling) primed to take the 11 points needed to replace her.

Barnes followed her Curlew Cup win with second behind Elinor Barker at the Otley Grand Prix and the presence of a kermesse will be beneficial for the Tour Series winner who won the stage three criterium at the opening event in this year’s series, the City of Perth Grand Prix.

Women's Series top 3

Anne Ewing 175
Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

Hannah Barnes 165 MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling

Eileen Roe 157
Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

Second in the time trial in Perth also demonstrated Barnes’ versatility, as did the win in the road race stage in last year’s event, won overall by Dame Sarah Storey.

Ewing’s teammate and third place Eileen Roe is also set to miss the weekend of racing providing incentive for Charline Joiner (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling) who is 34 points adrift of Roe and 52 away from Ewing.

Cheshire Classic winner Karla Boddy will hope to rekindle the form she found in the north west.

Elinor Barker (Wiggle Honda) won at the Otley Grand Prix but is on duty with Great Britain at the Under 23 European Championships however British Cycling Olympic Academy rider Emily Kay is named for Scott Contessa Epic.

The 17-year-old won at the Hillingdon Grand Prix as well as finishing third Cheshire Classic and sitting in sixth overall Kay could drive herself into the upper echelons of the standings in Essex.

Stage one’s time trial navigates an 11-kilometre circuit taking in Elmdon and Littlebury before the afternoon’s stage two kermesse takes place over a eight-kilometre circuit.

Eight laps totalling 64-kilometres include an uphill finish on Chapel Green Lane.

Sunday’s 128-kilometre road race consists of six and three quarter laps of an 18.66-kilometre course through Radwinter, Wimbish and Thaxted.

Start list

1 Elizabeth Malins Abergavenny Road Club 2nd
2 Lowri Devey Abergavenny Road Club 1st
3 Manon Lloyd Abergavenny Road Club 3rd
4 Gi llian Taylor Abergavenny Road Club 2nd
5 Annasley Park Abergavenny Road Club 2nd
6 Laura Massey Abergavenny Road Club 1st
7 Jayne Wadsworth De Laune CC 3rd
8 Delia Beddis Dirtwheel Cycles 2nd
9 Charlotte Roberge Dulwich Paragon CC 2nd
10 Claire Martin Edinburgh RC 2nd
11 Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC 2nd
12 Mathi lde Pauls Exeter Wheelers 2nd
13 Elena Bremer Exeter Wheelers 2nd
14 Heidi Viles Exeter Wheelers 3rd
15 Alice Barnes Scott Contessa Epic
16 Stephania Magri GB 2nd
17 Charlotte Turner GB 3rd
18 Iona Sewell GB 1st
19 Sandra Mackay GB 3rd
20 Hayley Simmonds GB 3rd
21 Brit Tate GB
22 Bryony Board Glendene CC 2nd
23 Julie Erskine Granite City RT 2nd
24 Aimee Wright High Wycombe Cycling Club 2nd
25 Tanya Griffiths Ipswich BC 2nd
26 Keira McVitty Kings Cliffe Flyers CC 2nd
27 Bethany Hayward Scott Contessa Epic
28 Francesca Morgans-Slader Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club 2nd
29 Coralie Glaunes Les Fi lles Racing Team 3rd
30 Helen Ralston Les Fi lles Racing Team 2nd
31 Nicole Oh Les Fi lles Racing Team 2nd
32 Alexie Shaw Les Fi lles Racing Team 2nd
33 Kate Hewett Les Fi lles Racing Team 2nd
34 Tracy Corbett London Dynamo 3rd
35 Claire Richardson London Dynamo 3rd
36 Maeve Savage London Dynamo 3rd
37 Michelle Forster London Phoenix CC 2nd
38 Bella Leach London Phoenix CC 2nd
39 Rachael Yates London Phoenix CC 3rd
40 Karla Boddy MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 1st
41 Melissa Brand MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 2nd
42 Charline Joiner MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 1st
43 Hayley Edwards MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 2nd
44 Hannah Barnes MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling Elite
45 Natasha Morrison MGDecor / Team Corton Bikes 3rd
46 Gabriella Nordin Pedal Power RT 2nd
47 Laura Murray Breast Cancer Care CT
48 Anda-Jay Burgess Sandy Wallace Cycles 2nd
49 Laura Wasley Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
50 Anna Christian Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
51 Emily Kay Scott Contessa Epic 1st
52 Amy Gornall Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
53 Kimberley English Scott Contessa Epic 2nd
54 Lisa-Jane Leonard St Ives CC 3rd
55 Astrid Wingler Team CTC 2nd
56 Adele Martin Team Hope Factory Racing 2nd
57 Jo Blackburn Team Swift 2nd
58 Erica Howe VC Norwich 3rd
59 Beth Coley VC Norwich 3rd
60 Elanor Cadzow Welwyn Whls CC 3rd
61 Catherine Hills WyndyMilla 2nd
62 Rachel Przybylski WyndyMilla 2nd
63 Lucy Chittenden 2nd
64 Amy Hill Abergavenny Road Club 1st
65 Natalie Grinczer Abergavenny Road Club 2nd
66 Maxine Fi lby 2nd
67 Claire Elworthy Exeter Wheelers 2nd
68 Molly Weaver Breast Cancer Care CT 1st
69 Jennifer Edwards Rhos on Sea 2nd
70 Bethany Clumpton Hargroves Cycles 3rd