We have a new website Try it now Hide
 Login Register for free news, tips & videos

Clancy and Garner named on British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships start list

Share |

Published: 8 July 2013

Start list |

The British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships takes place in York on Sunday 21 July, the day that the Tour de France draws to a close and the baton is passed to Yorkshire ahead of Le Grand Départ 2014.

Lucy Garner

As one of the pinnacle events on the domestic elite road racing calendar, the championships are fiercely contested by the country’s top professional riders and teams and previous winners include the likes of 2011 road world champion Mark Cavendish and Olympic medallists Ed Clancy, Lizzie Armitstead, Joanna Rowsell and Dani King.

The 2012 titles were won by Scott Thwaites and double junior road world champion Lucy Garner.

With the date marking the beginning of the countdown to Yorkshire’s hosting of the Tour de France Grand Départ in 2014, the 21 July will be a symbolic day for the city of York.

To mark the occasion, the city is planning big screen coverage of the final stage of the Tour de France, timed to follow on from the conclusion of the national championships.


Previous winners

Year Men Women
2012 Scott Thwaites Lucy Garner
2011 Graham Briggs Hannah Barnes
2010 Ed Clancy Hannah Barnes
2009 Russell Downing Dani King
2008 Dean Downing Joanna Rowsell
2007 James McCallum Lizzie Armitstead
2006 James Taylor Lizzie Armitstead
2005 Mark Cavendish Amy Hunt
Latest Results


Upcoming Events