Road: Coleman stuns Axford to win TMG Horizon Road Race

Road: Coleman stuns Axford to win TMG Horizon Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Event: 30 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Douglas Coleman (CC Luton) closed a 1:30 gap to overtake Danny Axford (Arctic SRAM RT) and win the TMG Horizon Road Race in Leighton Buzzard on Sunday.

The second lap saw a break from the front, with Axford putting in the initial attack. He managed to widen the gap to a minute-and-a-half as the bell rang for the last lap but Coleman picked up the pace and chased him down.

Coleman, who used to ride for host club TMG Horizon, caught Axford with 400m to go and had the legs to charge past him and cross the line six seconds ahead of his rival.

Coleman, 27, said after the race: “I was really happy with the win today, I had one at beginning of season in the Crest and it was nice to add to that.

“Training has been going well, it’s just good to be in good club with good team mates. I plan on riding more local races and national Bs and I’m feeling strong."


1 Doug Coleman (CC Luton)
2 Danny Axford (Arctic SRAM RT) @6seconds
3 Colin Roshier (Team Quest)
4 Richard Cleaver (Leisure Lakes)
5 James Locket (V Sprint)
6 James Local (London Dynamo)
7 Simon Cannings (Twenty3c)
8 Owen Jeffries (Northern CC)
9 Robert King (private)
10 Sean Dines (Corley Cycles)
11 Jack Beezer (Edinburgh RC)
12 Ben Macland (VC Meudon)
13 David Palmer (MG-Maxifuel)
14 Steven Hurell (API Metrow)
15 Chris Grange (LBRCC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.