Road: Bumper turnout for CC Giro Youth Circuits

Home » Road racing

Location: Curborough Sprint Course, Lichfield
Event: 29 June 2013
Report and Photos: Guy Swarbrick

Bumper entries provided a packed programme of races at the Curborough Sprint Course for the 2013 CC Giro Youth Circuits – with qualifying heats for the Under 12s and Under 14 and Under 16 Boys.

The battle between Daniel Wylie-Morris of Towy Riders and Niall Colquitt of Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man continued in the Under 8s. The pendulum had swung in the direction of the young Manxman for the last two rounds, but at Curborough it headed back towards the Welshman.

Finn Hawkins of Palmer Park Velo took the first National Series Sprint with Jed Smithson of Team MK taken the second – and both were in the reckoning in the final sprint - but it was Wylie-Morris that took it, from Colquitt with Hawkins third and Smithson fourth.

Under 8
1 Daniel WYLIE-MORRIS Towy Riders
2 Niall COLQUITT Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man
3 Finn HAWKINS Palmer Park Velo
4 Jed SMITHSON Oxonian CC
5 Awen ROBERTS Towy Riders
6 Evan HACKER North Cheshire Clarion

The Askey brothers continued their domination of the Under 10s and Under 12s – although neither had it as easy as they have in earlier rounds. Joshua Giddings of Heanor Clarion took the first Series Sprint but, ominously, it was Askey that took the second.

It was another bunch sprint finish, though and Askey just managed to hold off Bevan Smith of Maindy Flyers and Benjamin Peatfield of Bolton Hot Wheels to take the win and consolidate his lead in the series.

Under 10
1 Ben ASKEY Lichfield City CC
2 Bevan SMITH Maindy Flyers
3 Benjamin PEATFIELD Bolton Hot Wheels
4 Joshua TARLING West Wales Cycle Racing Team
5 Connor SMITH Lichfield City CC
6 Thomas DAVIES Welwyn Wheelers

Ben’s older brother Lewis rode away from the field at Hillingdon last weekend and, although he had a couple of spirited attempts, he couldn’t quite achieve the same feat this week.

The pattern of the Under 10 race was repeated with Finlay Cooper-Oldroyd of Kirklees Cycling Academy taking the first of the sprints but Askey taking another 5 points towards his remarkable total in the second.

And once again the it was a Lichfield City CC rider first with a Maindy Flyers rider second – although this time Askey was well clear with James Codd winning the bunch sprint from Joe Wilson of Stockton Wheelers.

Under 12
1 Lewis ASKEY Lichfield City CC
2 James CODD Maindy Flyers
3 Joe WILSON Stockton Wheelers
4 Owen WILLIAMS Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club
5 Finlay COOPER-OLDROYD Kirklees Cycling Academy
6 Owain ROBERTS Towy Riders

Towy Riders’ Jessica Roberts is another rider that has dominated her category this year – leading a Welsh charge which has riders from the Principality in the first five places in the overall standings.

They took the first four places at Curborough, too. Although Roberts had a couple of attempts to break clear early on it was Lowri Thomas of Abergavenny Road Club who took both sprints and at the bell, Roberts was still in the bunch.

You wouldn’t have known it at the finish, though. She simply found another gear as she powered out of the bottom hairpin to lead the rest in her wake. Thomas took the bunch sprint ahead of the Cardiff JIF duo of Sophie Williams and Elizabeth Bennett.

Under 14 Girls
1 Jessica ROBERTS Towy Riders
2 Lowri THOMAS Abergavenny Road Club
3 Sophie WILLIAMS Cardiff JIF
4 Elizabeth BENNETT Cardiff JIF
5 Lauren MURPHY Team MK
6 Madeleine GAMMONS Bourne Wheelers

There was drama in the early stages of the Under 14 Boys race with National Champion Daniel Tulett crashing heavily. After a lap out he re-joined the race and was never far from the action. This, though, was the most cautious of the day’s races and it never really looked as though anyone would be allowed to get away.

That’s been the pattern so far this year with everyone watching Tullett and Tullett happy to stay with them, confident in his finishing strength. Once again, though, it was William Turnbull of Marton Race Team who took the bunch sprint, making it two Series wins in two weekends.

Tullett’s second place – despite the gravel rash from his earlier off – keeps him in the series lead with Kirklees Cycling Academy duo Jamie Ridehalgh and Harry Hardcastle taking third and fourth.

Under 14 Boys
1 William TURNBULL Marton Race Team
2 Daniel TULETT Hargroves Cycles-Specialized
3 Jamie RIDEHALGH Kirklees Cycling Academy
4 Harry HARDCASTLE Kirklees Cycling Academy
5 Anthony ANDERSON Kingston Wheelers
6 Oliver POSTLE Bush Healthcare Cycle Racing Team

A lively Under 16 Girls race saw Charlotte Broughton of MG Décor, Abby-Mae Parkinson and Grace Garner of RST Racing Team, Megan Barker of Cardiff Ajax and Henrietta Colbourne and Eleanor Dickinson of Beacon Wheelers all active on the front and it was Colbourne who took the first of the sprints with Barker taking the second.

Despite the fact that plenty of riders were prepared to put in the work on the front, nobody was able to get away and yet another race came down to a bunch sprint. Garner took it comfortably from Broughton with Barker taking third.

Under 16 Girls
1 Grace GARNER RST Racing Team
2 Charlotte BROUGHTON MG Decor
3 Megan BARKER Cardiff Ajax
4 Abby-Mae PARKINSON RST Racing Team
5 Eleanor DICKINSON Beacon Wheelers
6 Lucy SHAW Solihull CC

Isle of Man riders did much of the running early on in the Under 16 Boys race with Matthew Bostock and Nathan Draper of Team Royal London 360 taking the National Series sprints - but the ride of the day came in the last third of the race.

Where the only sustained solo break of the day saw Joseph Fry of RST Racing Team ride away from the field. Karl Baillie of Whitham Wheelers was the only rider able to react and he bridged the gap to Fry and the pair pulled away from the field.

Fry, though, wasn’t going to let anyone share in the glory and rode away from Baillie with two laps to go, easing out a 10 second lead by the time the chequered flag dropped.

The bunch had closed to within 12 seconds of Baillie by the end and it was Joe Holt of County Cycles Racing Team – winner in Milton Keynes – who took the bunch sprint with another narrow sprint victory over Fry’s team mate Joey Walker.

Under 16 Boys
1 Joseph FRY RST Racing Team
2 Karl BAILLIE Whitham Wheelers
3 Joe HOLT County Cycles Racing Team
4 Joey WALKER RST Racing Team
5 James IRESON Wolverhampton Wheelers
6 Matthew BOSTOCK Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.