Road: Mason sprints to Rotor Road Race win

Road: Mason sprints to Rotor Road Race win

Home » Road racing

Location: Ettington, Stratford
Event: 23 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Phil Mason (Climb on Bikes) took a sprint win from a seven-man breakaway to claim the Rotor Road Race in Stratford.

Fifty-three riders competed over 64 miles on a windy rolling circuit which riders completed four times, including the climb up Brailes every lap.

Nobody got a clear gap on the peloton in the early stages of the race until 30 miles into the race when a group including Chris Wilkinson, Jacob Kelly, Danny Axford and Ben Manfield-Yorke managed to get a 39-second gap before being pulled back.

Riders tried their luck in ones and twos until the winning break of seven escaped with just five miles to go including Phil Mason, Mike Twelves, Danny Axford, Mike Jones, Stuart Clayton, Sean Mungovan and Conor O’Brien.

Mason,48, from Forthampton was the fastest from the breakaway to take victory ahead of Mike Twelves from Stapelton in second and Danny Axford (Artic Sram RT) in third.


1 Phil Mason (Climb on Bikes CC)
2 Mike Twelves (Team Jewson)
3 Danny Axford (Artic Sram RT)
4 Mike Jones (Paramount CRT)
5 Stuart Clayton (Lichfield City CC)
6 Sean Mungovan (Beacon Roads CC)
7 Conor O’Brien (Cult Racing)
8 William Golbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
9 Jacob Loftus (Zappi’s Pro Cycling)
10 Jamie Wilkins (Pro Cycling Magazine RT)
11 Ben Carty (unattached)
12 Jordan Bason (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling)
13 Justin Harcourt (Urban-Cyclery RT)
14 Roger Prior (Zappi’s CC)
15 Luke Souter (Banbury Star CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.