Road: Labrum takes first win in Leighton

Road: Labrum takes first win in Leighton

Home » Road racing

Location: Leighton, near Telford, Shropshire
Event: 13 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Nick Labrum (Walsall RCC) secured his first ever win when he took advantage of the handicap system and escaped to victory with two other riders at round seven of the SSSCCRRL in Leighton.

A windy evening didn’t help riders as they tackled one of the tougher courses of the series which included a long climb up to the finish at Leighton.

Three riders including Labrum escaped from the first of the five handicap groups and were never seen again on the lumpy circuit.

On the finishing lap groups one, two and three came together but they were unable to catch the three escapees.

Labrum, from Walsall took the win on the top of the long finish climb ahead of Andrew Tomlinson (Wolverhampton RCC) in second and Greg Caley (Walsall RCC) in third.


1 Nick Labrum (Walsall RCC)
2 Andrew Tomlinson (Wolverhampton RCC)
3 Greg Caley (Walsall RCC)
4 David Bates (unattached)
5 Max Hale (Ystwyth RC)
6 Martin Boakes (CC Luton)
7 Shaun Hammond (Wolverhampton Whls)
8 Stephen Lynn (West Midlands Police CRT)
9 David Singleton (unattached)
10 Garry Bolton (Wolverhampton Whls)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Become a British Cycling member