Road: Wilson solos to Preston win

Road: Wilson solos to Preston win

Home » Road racing

Location: Preston Sports Arena, Lancashire
Event: 6 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Simon Wilson (Team Corley Cycles) road away from a field of 18 riders to take a solo win by 35 seconds in the E/1/2 race at round nine of the Uclan Circuit Race Series.

Wilson, 32, from Padiham made it his fourth win of the series in a successful start to the season which has seen him take a total of eight wins.

The pairing of James Dunlop (Biketreks RA) in second and Ian Stott (Blackburn & Dist CTC) in third finished 35 seconds down with Ian Wilkinson (Team UK Youth) taking the bunch sprint for forth.

In the 3/4 race Steward Melling from Chorley took his first ever win in the bunch sprint ahead of Adam Hartley (Velocity WD-40) in second and Dave Christian (Liverpool CTC) came in third.

In the youth races there was wins for Robert Armstrong (Epic Cycles RT) in the under 16s, Nathan Hawthorne (Eastlands Velo) in the under 14s, Isaac Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) in the under 12s, Benjamin Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) in the under 10s and Deetry Jarrett (Blackpool youth) in the under 8s.


1 Simon Wilson (Team Corley Cycles)
2 James Dunlop (Biketreks RA) @35.631
3 Ian Stott (Blackburn & Dist CTC) @35.79
4 Ian Wilkinson (Team UK Youth) @01:19.5
5 Kenta Gallagher (Superior Brentjens MTB RT) @01:19.6
6 Ellis Kirkbride (Border City Wheelers) @01:20.1
7 Jordan Rigby (Team Wallis) @01:20.4
8 Rob Aldred (Velo29-Blackhawk) @01:20.5
9 Jamie Kennedy (Paisley Velo RT)@01:21.1
10 Scot Bullivant (Rock & Road Cycles)@01:21.3
11 Richard Stott (Lancs Fire Racing)@01:21.4
12 Gary Spencely(unattached) @01:21.8
13 Austin Aldred (Bella Insella) @01:22.9
14 Sam Boast (Sportscover)@01:23.7
15 Jerrod Hartley (Horwich)@01:24.2
16 Martin Woffindin (Cycle Sport Pendle)@01:24.5
17 Mark McGavock (Southport CC) @01:24.7
18Grant Ferguson (Superior Brentjens RT )@01:29.6

1 Stewart Melling (unattached)
2 Adam Hartley (Velocity WD-40)
3 Dave Christian (Liverpool CTC)
4 Billy Sewart (Team Leapfrog)
5 Anthony Windle (Dave Hind RT)
6 Dave Haygarth (Planet X Bikes)
7 Neil Rollins (Ilkley CC)
8 Shaun Faraday (Lancs Fire Racing)
9 Chris Lyon (Preston CC)
10 Paul Woodrow (4 Star Racing)

Youth A
1 Robert Armstrong (Epic Cycles RT)
2 Harris Redgrove (Sports City Velo)
3 Tim Jones (Cycle Sport Pendle)

Youth B
1 Nathan Hawthorne (Eastlands Velo)
2 Alistair Leivers (Blackpool Youth)
3 Theo Hartley (Bolton Hot Wheels)

Youth C
1 Issac Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels)
2 Adam Hathaway (Bolton Hot Wheels)
3 Eve Martin (RVJ)

Youth D
1 Benjamin Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels)
2 James Higham (Eastlands Velo)
3 Isaac Atkins (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

Youth E
1 Deetry Jarrett (Blackpool Youth)
2 Ethan Grimshaw (Bolton Hot Wheels)
3 Riley Saint-Simmons (Bolton Hot Wheels)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.