Road: Wilcocks wins

Road: Wilcocks wins

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon Cycle Circuit, London
Event: 8 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Robert Wilcocks (RAF CC) won the Summer Criterium at Hillingdon on Saturday after leading from early on in the race.

The race began at blistering pace with attacks going in straight from the gun. Wilcocks followed the moves of the leaders closely and then when there was a lull about ten minutes in, he made his attack.

The 32-year-old took local rider Steve Golla (High Wycombe CC) with him and the two riders worked together to open up a gap of about 20 seconds on the bunch.

Half an hour into the race, the bunch struck back and although they couldn’t catch Wilcocks, Golla was pulled back in and Wilcocks continued to push on.

But he wasn’t alone, Mike Jackson of CC Luton had kept pace with him and once again, Wilcocks worked well with his rival.

Then, on the bell lap, The Aylesbury man used his previous experience of the track to tear away to a sprint finish victory.

Robert said after the race: “When it got to the bell lap, I knew that the finish comes quicker than you think so I had jump on Mike and just maintained my push.

“I was leading after about 10 minutes of the race so it was a tough one, having to push all the time.

“I’m not training as much as normal, although I’ve ridden some courses at work. Maybe that’s helped though, I think I’m a bit fresher.”

In the women’s race, Jessica Stoddart took first place with the 23-year-old Bexley rider beating Jayne Paine (Willesden CC) and Holly Seear (Twickenham CC).

Luke Taylor (Kingston Wheelers) won the category three race and Michael Mottram (GS Henley) prevailed in category four.


1 Robert Wilcocks RAF CC
2 Mike Jackson CC Luton @same time
3 Ben Summer Beeline RT @ 7sec
4 Stephen Bradbury Procycling Team @ 28sec
5 Alex Peterson AW Cycles
6 Steve Golla High Wycombe CC
7 Vince Halpern Handsling Cycles
8 John Donovan GS Grupetto
9 Tim Ryan Cardiff Cif
10 Declan Higgins VC St Raphael
11 Peter Cole Handsling Cycles
12 Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC
13 Joe Barry Performance Cycles
14 Geoff Williams Python RT
15 Mike Ward Ride 24/7
16 Nigel Williams Python RT
17 Mike Knight VC Meudon
18 Malcolm Freeman High Wycombe CC
19 Stuart Williams Reading CC
20 Ben Wilson Personal Best all @same time


1 Jessica Stoddart
2 Jayne Paine Willesden CC
3 Holly Seear Twickenham CC
4 Juliet Milward High Wycombe CC
5 Michelle Forster London Phoenix
6 Donna Quinell Rollappaluza CC
7 Nikkie Engelbach Les Fillies CC
8 Claire Richardson London Dynamo
9 Cynthion Knuschke High Wycombe CC
10 Victoria Williams RAF CC
11 Charlotte Roberge Dulwich Paragon
12 Tracey Corbett London Dynamo
13 Jane Hunt High Wycombe CC all @same time


1 Luke Taylor Kingston Wheelers
2 Dominque Gabellini Rapha Condor
3 Martin Hunter Colchester Rovers CC
4 Simon Whitten Handsling Racing
5 Tom Beasley East London Velo
6 Graham Austin East St Cycles
7 Dan Rudd Artic SRAM
8 Leszek Wuziak Twickenham CC
9 Tim Edwins LBRCC-Solgar
10 Amritpal Virdi Norwood Paragon
11 Chris Grange LBRCC-Solgar
12 Chris Denman West Drayton MBC
13 Ray Wilson London Dynamo
14 Livio Nanetti
15 Michael Shipsey TMG Horizon
16 Clive Evans West Drayton MBC
17 Neil Wass TMG Horizon
18 James DeRoco High Wycombe CC
19 Tim Clark Personal Best
20 Callum Oliver Rapha Condor
21 Ian Cooper Hillingdon CC
22 Andrew Wright High Wycombe CC
23 Darren Parrot Python RT
24 Wayne Thomas GS Henley
25 Liam Brewer London Phoenix all @same time

1 Michael Mottram GS Henley
2 Patrick Brown PM
3 Barry Bonnett PM
4 Steve Mahon East London Velo
5 Mike Harris Twickenham CC
6 Marc Preece RAF CC
7 Russ Dankett Army CU
8 Matt Whittaker Kingston Wheelers
9 James McCoy PM
10 Jon Shillingford PM
11 Adam Meads Cabello Velo
12 Sean Kanagaratnam Dulwich Paragon
13 Paul McEntee North Bucks RC
14 Matt Brown PM
15 Akis Rollados London Dynamo
16 Odhran McConnell Rapha Condor
17 Tim Phillips VC Londres
18 Dave Ticlino London Dynamo
19 Dan Williams PM
20 Samuel Evans Dulwich Paragon
21 Paul Buckley Thames Velo
22 Darryl Green Inverse RT
23 Graham Line North Bucks RC
24 Jacob Rack Manchester Wheelers
25 Freddy Charlton London Dynamo
26 Carl Adams Aylesbury CC
27 Robert Abbey Hemel Hempstead CC
28 Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon
29 David Seymour Twickenham CC
30 Peter Cornwall PM
31 Daniel Goldsmith Twickenham CC all @same time

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.