Road: Higham stomps to Palatine win

Road: Higham stomps to Palatine win

Home » Road racing

Location: Palatine Circuit, Blackpool
Event: 1 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Dean Higham (H Middleton CC) won 3/4 category race in round two of the Palatine Spring Series and claimed his second win of the week.

Higham, 29, from Skelmersdale, made it two wins in a week after winning at Litherland round eight on Wednesday night.

In second place was Andrew Martin from Whiston and coming home in third was Ryan McGillick (Mossley CRT).

18-year-old Eve Dixon (Maxgear RT) won in the women’s race from Lauren Brown (Abergavenny RC) in second and Claire Rutherford (Team Wheelguru) took third.

In the under-16s race it was Thomas Figgins (Bolton Hot Wheels) who took his fifth win of the season from Harris Redgrove (Sportcity Velo) in second and Adam Hall (Salt Ayre) in third.

In the under-14s it was Alistair Leivers (Blackpool Youth) who won ahead of Daniel Gibson (Liverpool Century) in second and Michael Hall (Furness Future Flyers) in third.

There were also wins for Isaac Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) in the under 12s, Ben Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) in the under 10s and Ewan Hacker (North Cheshire Clarion) in the under 8s.



1 Dean Higham (H Middleton CC)

2 Andrew Martin (unattached)

3 Ryan McGillick (Mossley CRT)

4 Mike Farnell (unattached)

5 Connor French (Cycle Sport Pendle)

6 Adam Hartley (Velocity WD-40)

7 Richard Ranson (Houghton CC)

8 James Dyson (JRT)

9 Anthony Windle (Dave Hinde RT)

10 Ashton Payne (Hope Factory racing)


1 Eve Dixon (Maxgear RT)

2 Lauren Brown (Abergavenny RC)

3 Claire Rutherford (Team Wheelguru)

Under 16s

1 Thomas Figgins (Bolton Hot Wheels)

2 Harris Redgrove (Sportcity Velo)

3 Adan Hall (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

4 Timothy Jones (Cycle Sport Pendle)

5 Joseph Baldwin (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

6 Harry French (Cycle Sport Pendle)

7 Bailey Payne (Cycle Sport Pendle)

8 Ryan Coulton (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

9 Sam Monkhouse (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

10 Daniel Hulmes (Bolton Hot Wheels)

Under 14s

1 Alistair Leivers (Blackpool Youth Cycle Assoc)

2 Daniel Gibson (Liverpool Century)

3 Michael Hall (Furness Future Flyers)

4 Lewis Hartley (Eastlands Velo)

5 Andrew Hatherway (Bolton Hot Wheels)

6 Elliot Reed (Salt Ayre Cog Set)

7 Katie Helsby (Eastlands Velo) first girl

8 Jack Barton (Furness Future Flyers)

9 Brendan Thomason(Liverpool Century)

Under 12s

1 Isaac Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels)

2 George Elliot (Liverpool Century)

3 Thomas Bater (Mossley CRT)

4 Adam Hatherway (Bolton Hot Wheels)

5 Holly Stayner (Blackpool Youth Cycle Assoc) first girl

Under 10s

1 Ben Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels)

2 James Higham (Eastland Velo)

3 Lachlan Hacker (Nth Cheshire Clarion)

4 Niamha Albones (Liverpool Century) first girl

5 Thomas Bickerstaffe (Blackpool Youth Cycle Assoc)

Under 8s

1 Euan Hacker (Nth Cheshire Clarion)

2 Joel Sargeant (Blackpool Youth Cycle Assoc)

3 Scott Fisher (Furness Future Flyers)

4 Deetray Jarrett (Blackpool Youth Cycle Assoc)

5 Tom Eliot (Liverpool Century)

6 Trayden Jarrett (Blackpool Youth Cycle Assoc)

7 Saul Ashton (Blackpool Youth Cycle Association)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members