Road: Greenwood sprints to Anderside Classic win

Road: Greenwood sprints to Anderside Classic win

Home » Road racing

Location: Eaglesham, Glasgow
Event:1 June 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Ben Greenwood (Team Hope Factory Racing) beat his breakaway partner to win the Anderside Classic Road Race, which incorporated the West of Scotland RR Champs on Saturday.

Greenwood, 28 and from Fife, missed the winning break of eight riders and had to ride across the gap with Peter Williams.

On the last lap of the 86 mile race Greenwood attacked the break with David Lines (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling). The pair worked together and stayed away to the finish with Greenwood getting the better of Lines in the two-up sprint.

Speaking after the race, Greenwood said: “This is one of the bigger races to win in Scotland and it was in 2008 that I won it last so it feels good.

“On the last lap me and David Lines both attacked at the same time on a downhill section and nearly rode into each other. We then worked well together and I managed to beat him in the sprint at the finish.

“I became ill after riding the An Post Ras and suffered at the Tour Series in Torquay and Colchester but I managed to recover in time for this race and after the Ras the 86-mile distance wasn’t a problem for me.

“I am riding well at the moment so my big aim is the National Championships in Glasgow as well as the Tour Series and the Premier Calendar.”


1 Ben Greenwood (Team Hope Factory Racing)
2 David Lines (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling)
3 Andrew Hawdon (Herbalife)
4 Peter Williams (Team IG- Sigma Sport)
5 Evan Oliphant (Team Raleigh)
6 Craig Adams (GJS Cruise Racing)
7 Andrew Whitehall (Equipe Velo Ecosse)
8 Jamie Kennedy (Paisley Velo RT)
9 Peter Murdoch (Paisley Velo RT)
10 Thomas Bustard (Herbalife)
11 Scott McCrossan (Rock to Roll Cycles)
12 David Griffiths (Glasgow Whls)
13 Paul Rennie (Ayrshire & Dumfries)
14 Robert Hassan (Ibigane Opel)
15 Alex Coutts (Herbalife)
16 Steven Lawley (The
17 Lewis Oliphant (unattached)
18 Euan Pope (Glasgow RC)
19 Ryan Fenwick (Gala CC)
20 Matthew Kipling (Velo29-Blackhawk)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members