Road: Cavey takes first win in SERRL

Road: Cavey takes first win in SERRL

Home » Road racing

Location: Ashford, Kent
Event: 2 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Stephen Cavey (Catford CC) recorded his first ever win in only his second full competitive race in Ashford on Saturday.

An early break got away from the main bunch early on before being swallowed up and Cavey, 21, found himself behind two riders who had ridden away from the front.

The Loughborough-based rider soon leapfrogged the leaders and was then joined by eight riders who worked together to open up a gap over the peleton, varying between three and four minutes.

On the final lap, the group was whittled down to five riders who competed in a sprint finish with Cavey having the edge by about half a bike.

Stephen said after the race: “I was surprised to win! I felt good before the race but in no way did I think I could win it.

“Training has been going well and I just want to keep doing the SERRL races and some in the Surrey league to keep my form up, anything local.

“It wasn’t really a hilly race but it wasn’t flat either. I think the lead came down to the fact that there were some people who weren’t willing to work together in the peloton but my group at the front wanted to have a go and were really up for it.

“It was my second ever road race, I only just started cycling races this year.”


1 Stephen Cavey Catford Cycling Club

2 David Kennett Norwood Paragon C.C.

3 Richard Bayfield London Phoenix

4 Craig Simpson Neon Velo

5 Andrew Colvin Bigfoot CC

6 Huck Garip PMR@ToachimHouse

7 Kevin Newland 4T+ Velo Club

8 Tim Johnston SFACC

9 Simon Charlesworth SFA Racing

10 Keith Watson Ad Adalta CC

11 fraser wildman PMR@Toachim House

12 Jacob Nicholson Medway VC

13 Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon

14 Nick Malins 4T+ Velo Club

15 Ross Bryan Team Gwb-ACTiV

16 Danny Matthews Club Cyclopark

17 James Walsby Catford CC Banks Equipe

18 Nathan Hereward Kingston Wheelers

19 Dan Stevens Neon Velo

20 Marco Coppola Gemini BC

21 Phil Hoffman San Fairy Ann CC

22 Jess Harding Neon Velo

23 Peter Mahoney Sydenham Wheelers

24 Craig Joy PMR@Team Toachim

25 Giles Porter London Dynamo

26 Sam Bradford PMR@ToachimHouse

27 Jamie Batten Dulwich Paragon

28 Dave McCann PMR@Toachim House

29 Liam Yates Catford Equipe CC

30 Ewan Tuohy Catford CC Equipe Banks

31 Aaron Dewhurst Team Gwb-ACTiV

32 Nick Saunders Ad Alta CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members