Road: Anderson wins in Aberdeen Evening Series

Road: Anderson wins in Aberdeen Evening Series

Home » Road racing

Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire
Event: 23 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

In form Granite City Racing Team member David Anderson took victory in the second round of the Aberdeen and District CA Evening Road Race Series, staged at Kemnay on Thursday night.

The 23-year-old from Aberdeen, who placed seventh in the previous weekend’s Scottish Road Race Championships, held off round one runner-up Martin Lonie (Dooleys Cycles), 33 and from East Kilbride.

The final spot on the podium went to Anderson’s team-mate at Granite City Brian Duncan, 32 and from Old Rayne near Inverurie.

Best of the fourth category riders was Deeside Thistle’s Euan Cartlidge in fourth, while fifth-placed Zak Loney (Ythan CC) was the fastest junior rider in the race.


1 David Anderson Granite City RT 2nd

2 Martin Lonie 2nd

3 Brian Duncan Granite City RT 3rd

4 Euan Cartlidge Deeside Thistle CC 4th 1st 4th Cat

5 Zak Loney Ythan CC 3rd 1st Jun

6 William Crawford Granite City RT 3rd

7 Michael Henderson Moray Firth Cycling Club 2nd

8 Robert Brown Sandy Wallace Cycles

9 Jonathan Hunter Aberdeen Wheelers CC 3rd

10 Keith Robertson Granite City RT 2nd

11 Fraser MacBeath Moray Firth Cycling Club 3rd

12 Rob Cowie Aberdeen Wheelers CC 3rd

13 Brian Widdison Moray Firth Cycling Club 3rd

14 Tim Mackley Deeside Thistle CC 4th 2nd 4th Cat

15 Cristian Tudorache Granite City RT 3rd

16 Neil Anderson Deeside Thistle CC 3rd

17 Veli-Matti Raikkonen Granite City RT 2nd

18 Kelvin White Deeside Thistle CC 4th 3rd 4th Cat

19 John Grant Moray Firth Cycling Club 4th

20 Neil Scott Aberdeen University CC 4th

21 Callum Finlayson Forres CC 4th

22 Jack Richards Deeside Thistle CC 4th

23 Douglas Weir Lomond Roads CC 4th

24 David Stewart Deeside Thistle CC 4th

25 David Reed Deeside Thistle CC 3rd

26 Julie Erskine Granite City RT 2nd 1st Woman

27 Craig McCulloch Deeside Thistle CC 4th

28 Mark Tandy Deeside Thistle CC 3rd

29 Douglas Taylor Deeside Thistle CC 3rd

30 Michael Spalding Granite City RT 3rd

31 Lewis Grieve Spokes Racing Team 3rd

32 Greg Quinn Deeside Thistle CC 4th

33 Alan McCaffrey Ross-Shire RCC 4th

34 Kevin Watson Deeside Thistle CC 4th

35 Conan Abel Aberdeen Wheelers CC 4th

36 Laura Murray Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team 2nd 2nd Woman

37 Kevin Adam Deeside Thistle CC 4th

38 Ross Hayworth Aberdeen Wheelers CC 4th

39 Craig Ward Ythan CC 4th

40 Anthony French Ythan CC 4th

41 Jonathan Anthony Deeside Thistle CC 4th

42 Jean-Baptiste Pose Deeside Thistle CC 4th

43 Malcolm Young Deeside Thistle CC 4th

44 Jayne Taylor Deeside Thistle CC 4th 3rd Woman

45 Peter Ellington Deeside Thistle CC 4th

46 Mona Petrie Deeside Thistle CC 4th

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.