Road: Shackel victorious at Mountbatten Circuits

Home » Road racing

Location: Mountbatten Centre, Portsmouth, Hampshire
Event: 22 May 2013

Andy Shackel (Peter Hansford RT) continued a rich vein of form by following up Sunday’s second place at the South Division Championships and Monday’s first round win at Ludgershall to win the latest round at the Mountbatten centre in Portsmouth.

Along with four other riders Andy worked his way through the bunch once they were caught to sprint clear on the line.

On a lovely dry evening at the Hampshire venue Andy along with Henry Newbury (Fareham Wheelers) Simon Brooks (VC St Raphael) Henry Latimer (Aw Cycles) and Will Stephenson (Rapha Condor JLT) caught the tail of the bunch having got away and worked together for twenty minutes.

The early laps were very fluid with so many riders having a go on the front as lead was established it was caught until Henry Newbury followed by Andy and Simon eased of the front, Will and Henry Latimer were alert to the move and within a couple of laps had made the junction and at this point the race was all over for the remainder of the bunch.

Once the leading group of five joined on to the bunch they looked for a way through but had to be content to sit in and bide their time. Andy and Simon were able to get a sight of the front but it was Henry Latimer and Will who eventually came to the front with a lap to go.

The earlier third cat race took a long time to see a break go away but once it did it stayed away. Dave Dalton (Fareham Wheelers) was very aggressive throughout the race and several times he tried to get away but was unable to break the elastic. Once he got away with Alex Harding (Andover Wheelers) and Thomas Goodyer (PNECC) they stayed away and quickly put time into the bunch.

As they rounded the last bend before the line Dace put in one final attack to claim a fine win, making up for missing out at the South Division Road Race Championships on Sunday where he held a 20 second lead until the final climb where he was caught and passed.


1st Andy Shackel Peter Hansford RT 50mins +5laps
2nd Will Stephenson Rapha Condor JLT @st
3rd Henry Latimer AW Cycles
4th Simon Brooks VC St Raphael
5th Henry Newbury Fareham Wheelers

3rd & 4th cat:
1st Dave Dalton Fareham Wheelers
2nd Alex Harding Andover Wheelers @st
3rd Thomas Goodyer PNECC @st

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members