Road: In-form Hastings takes Eastern road race title

Road: In-form Hastings takes Eastern road race title

Home » Road racing

Location: East Hanningfield, Essex
Event: 19 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Attacking six miles from the finish, Andrew Hastings (Finchley RT) rode away from the rest of a four-man break to celebrate his first Eastern Region road race title after eight and a half laps of a testing East Hanningfield circuit.

Fourth in 2009, Hastings underlined the form that earned him victory in the Bob Whitear Memorial event a week earlier as he opened up a healthy gap over second-placed Roger Maidment (East London Velo) who, in turn, pulled away from Jamie Caldwell (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling) on the finishing climb.

The field began to split on the opening lap with five riders initially going clear but reduced to four when Vince Divine (Finchley RT) crashed out before a group of around 15 riders came across to them.

Their advantage over the main field hovered at around 30 seconds as attacks came and went off the front, but with two laps to go the decisive move was made when three riders – including Maidment and Caldwell - clipped away with Hastings then closing a gap of 100 metres to join them.

“We put the hammer down to get a good gap and then with six miles to go I attacked and rode away to the finish,” said the 32-year-old winner, from Ware in Hertfordshire. “It was quite a tough day and I’m very happy to have won.

“I’ve timed my form very well, or at least, my coach has – I wanted to win the championship so he’s geared everything around me being fresh for today and it’s worked a treat.

“I’m doing the national 10-mile time trial championship next week and then I’ve got a ride for Corley Cycles in the Milk Race up in Nottingham before the Beaumont Trophy Premier Calendar at the end of the month, so there is plenty to look forward to.”


1 29 Andrew Hastings Finchley RT 1 03:29:31

2 23 Roger Maidment East London Velo 1 @27 sec

3 43 Jamie Caldwell MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling Team E :@32 sec

4 3 Owen Lake Focus E :@37 sec

5 67 Jonathan Shuster Team Corley Cycles RT-Blue 2 :@47 sec

6 34 Lloyd Chapman Glendene CC-Ridley 2 st

7 57 Adam French Rapha Condor CC 1 st

8 35 Joshua Green Glendene CC-Ridley 2 st

9 7 Wojciech Szlachta Focus E @48sec

10 66 Tim Butt Strada Sport 1 @50sec

11 88 Rolandas Razgausus La Fuga 2 @1:00

12 79 Billy Joe Whenman Zannata CT 1 st

13 39 Philip Hetzel Ipswich BC 2 @1:05

14 42 Chris Bartlett Metaltek Knights of Old 2 st

15 80 Jason White Private Member 1 st

16 38 Mike Auger Iceni Velo E No Time

17 81 Andrew Griffiths IG Markets-Sigma Sport E No Time

18 61 Malcolm Smith St Ives CC 1 No Time

19 59 Felix Barker St Ives CC 2 No Time

20 1 Stephen Adams Focus E No Time

21 4 Andy Lyons Focus E No Time

22 8 Andrew Sanders Braintree Velo 2 No Time

23 33 Gray Turnock Finsbury Park C.C. 2 No Time

24 69 James Browne VC Norwich 2 No Time

25 63 Liam Gentry Strada Sport 1 No Time

26 87 Joe Giggins Pro Cycle Hire UK 2 No Time

27 12 Kieran Brady City Cycle 2 No Time

28 68 Dominic Schils To Win-Josan CT E No Time

29 64 Peter Hargreaves Strada Sport 2 No Time

30 52 Steven Griffiths Pro Cycle Hire UK 2 No Time

31 85 Simon Hime Finchley RT 3 No Time

32 46 Frank Rawlins North Road CC 2 No Time

33 24 Gonzalo Rodriguez East London Velo 2 No Time

34 73 George Farrell Welwyn Wheelers 2 No Time

35 53 Mark Howard Pro Cycle Hire UK 3 No Time

36 6 Dean Shannon Focus E No Time

37 41 Matthew Menlove Maldon & District CC 3 No Time

38 17 Ben Knapp Dulwich Paragon CC 2 No Time

39 44 Colin Brady North Road CC 2 No Time

40 65 Dieter Rowe Strada Sport 3 No Time

41 10 Toby Parnell Cambridge C.C. 2 No Time

42 20 David Bamford East London Velo 3 No Time

43 75 Joshua Maynard Welwyn Wheelers 2 No Time

44 25 Jack Steven East London Velo 2 No Time

45 30 Stephen Nunn Finchley RT 2 No Time

46 54 Gavin Moore Pro Cycle Hire UK 2 No Time

47 9 Edward Farnell Cambridge C.C. 2 No Time

48 32 Nigel Stephens Finchley RT 2 No Time

49 86 Stuart Pryce Strada Sport 2 No Time

50 58 Simon Alexander Southend Wheelers 2 No Time

51 70 Mark Hurrell Velo Schils Interbike 2 No Time

52 2 Rhys Howells Focus 1 No Time

53 60 Gerard Miley St Ives CC 3 No Time

54 84 Matthew Barlow Velo Schils Interbike 2 No Time

55 19 David Youell Eagle Road Club 3 No Time

56 77 Mark Smith Welwyn Wheelers 2 No Time

57 36 Daniel Snow Glendene CC-Ridley 2 No Time

58 51 Ian Franklin Pro Cycle Hire UK 2 No Time

59 45 Paul McGrath North Road CC 3 No Time

60 74 Henry Farrell Welwyn Wheelers 3 No Time

DNF 13 Mark Longstaff Colchester Rovers C.C. 3

DNF 14 Michael Smith Colchester Rovers C.C. 2

DNF 15 Ian Samuel Crest CC-Ilford 3

DNF 16 Robert Samuel Crest CC-Ilford 3

DNF 21 David Barnes East London Velo 2

DNF 22 Wayne Crombie East London Velo 2

DNF 28 Vince Divine Finchley RT 2

DNF 40 Alex Peters Madison Genisis E

DNF 47 John McClelland Prestige VC E

DNF 48 Kristian Woolf Prestige VC 2

DNF 50 Richard Da Silva Pro Cycle Hire UK E

DNF 56 Daniel Scott Pro Cycle Hire UK 3

DNF 71 Kevin Jeffries Velo Schils Interbike 4

DNF 76 Ben Smith Welwyn Wheelers 3

DNF 83 Russell Hampton Team Raleigh-GAC E

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members