Road: Cowland climbs to Cardington win

Road: Cowland climbs to Cardington win

Home » Road racing

Location: Cople, Bedfordshire
Event: 19 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

The outcome of CC Ashwell’s 56-mile road race was decided on the final climb of Cardington Hill with Mike Cowland (St Ives CC) leading the bunched field over the line for his first road win since 2009.

The Kettering 37-year-old took the verdict ahead of James Bevan (VC Meudon0 and veteran Jim Moffatt (Team Virgin Active) after four and a half laps of the Cardington circuit which saw a number of skirmishes off the front but nothing allowed to stay away by a vigilant pack.


1 Mike Cowland St Ives CC

2 James Bevan VC Meudon

3 Jim Moffatt Team Virgin Active

4 Theo Doncaster CC Ashwell

5 Camille Dubois UC IFS-Herouville

6 James Stewart Bonito Squadra Corse

7 Ed Silverton Bicicielo

8 William Scott Bonito Squadra Corse

9 Ellis Dudley CC Ashwell

10 Simon Fox CC Luton

11 Tim Davies Icknield RC

12 Henry Catchpole Club Corley Cycles

13 Dermot Kealey Finchley RT

14 Miles Butler London Phoenix CC

15 David Bird London Phoenix CC

16 Alex Cohen Finsbury Park CC

17 Osama Assem Finchley RT

18 Trevor Ormes Velo Schils Interbike

19 Steve Wood Peterborough CC

20 Paul Carr Club Corley Cycles

21 John Woyton Glendene CC

22 John Lacey TMG Horizon

23 Howard Lightfoot Cambridge CC

24 Marco Coppola Gemini BC

25 Ralph Keeler Cambridge CC

26 Sam Williamson Hemel Hempstead CC

27 Jason Stuart CC Ashwell

28 Nathaniel Rosa CC Ashwell

29 Tom Trimble CC Ashwell

30 Steve Lovell Bonito Squadra Corse

31 Michael Coomber icycle

32 Luke Souter Banbury star

33 Anthony Goodwin CC Luton

34 William Smith CC Ashwell

35 Julian Mills Club Corley Cycles

36 James Boardley Peterborough CC

37 Nicholas Cramer Hertfordshire Wheelers

38 Michael Skipsey TMG Horizon

39 Nick Perks Iceni Velo

40 Rory Havis St Ives CC

41 David Course Beds Road CC

42 Tim Edwins Leighton Buzzard RCC-Solgar

43 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC

44 Valentino Fontana Gemini BC

45 Edgar Medelin Finchley RT

46 Glenn O'Brien CC Luton

47 Glyndwyr Thomas VC Norwich

48 Stuart Lindsey St Ives CC

49 Stephen Wharton Finchley RT

50 Mike Deeney CC Luton

51 James Wylie Velo Schils Interbike

52 James Stokes Kettering CC

53 Gary Brooks Kenilwrth Wheelers

54 Jason Moore Corley Tri Team

55 Cameron Wolsey CC Ashwell

56 Anthony Purnell Cambridge CC

57 Phil Holland Club Corley Cycles

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members