Road: Thomas on top in Surrey League Road Race

Road: Thomas on top in Surrey League Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Charlwood, Surrey
Event: 2 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Kingston Wheelers’ third cat rider Gareth Thomas notched up victory in the Surrey Road Race League event at Charlwood on May 2.

The 27-year-old from West Molesey held off Surrey-based veteran Stephen Broomfield (Addiscombe CC) for the victory, while Norwood Paragon’s 34-year-old Mike Cownley took third.

The 30-mile race was a handicap race for all categories of rider. Thomas’s victory was his second of the season so far, having won the first round of the BC West Thames Series staged by the Bath Road Club on April 9, and finished second in the second round a week later.

He also placed second in a previous Surrey League race, the CC Basingstoke third cat event on March 30.


1 Gareth Thomas Kingston Wheelers 3

2 Stephen Broomfield Addiscombe CC 2V

3 Mike Cownley Norwood Paragon CC 2

4 Dominic Clegg Redhill Cycling Club 2

5 Darren Peachey Addiscombe CC 2

6 Wilf Sinclair Pearson Cycles 3

7 Keith Lea Addiscombe CC 2V

8 Matt Hill VO2 Development Team 3J

9 Mark Workman Festival RC 3

10 Matthew Halvatzis Addiscombe CC 4

11 Richard Buerckner Addiscombe CC 3

12 Shane Pope Bayeux Cycling Team 3

13 Brian Hennessey Redhill Cycling Club 3V

14 Matt Townsend ASL360 3V

15 Gareth Williams Prestige Velo Club 3V

16 Colin Gunn Kingston Wheelers 3

17 Alex Toghill Twickenham CC 3

18 Greg Strange Epsom CC 4J

19 Nick Prestonÿ Redhill CC 4

20 Ben Hope Private Member 4

21 Sean McAuliffe Redhill Cycling Club 3V

22 James Bonham Redhill CC 4

23 James Graham VC Meudon 3

24 George Moore ASL360 3

25 Austyn Tusler Norwood Paragon CC 2V

26 Ilija Trkulja Addiscombe CC 3

27 Mike Hawkins Norwood Paragon CC 3V

28 Marcus Brueton Norwood Paragon CC 2V

29 Barry Dodd Redhill CC 3

30 Ian Leeding Norwood Paragon CC 2V

31 David Kennett Norwood Paragon CC 3V

32 Daniel Gower Addiscombe CC 3

33 Andy Tedd ...a3crg 4V

34 Stephen Perry Addiscombe CC 4V

35 Ryan Visser Redhill Cycling Club 3

36 James Local London Dynamo 2

37 James Stuart Norwood Paragon CC 2

38 Maurice Brennan Redhill Cycling Club 2

39 Dave Larkin Charlotteville CC 2V

40 Mark Smith Crawley Wheelers 3V

41 Jason Ginn ASL360 3V

42 Dan Mitchell Redhill Cycling Club 2

43 Stephen Harvey Cardiff Ajax 4

44 Dante Carpenter Pedal Heaven RT 2

45 Anthony McCoy Addiscombe CC 4

46 Mark Bashford East Grinstead CC 4

47 Christian Bennyworth Wyndymilla 4

48 John Powell ASL360 3

49 Leeson Medhurst Redhill CC 4

50 Kieran Barber Redhill CC 4

51 Jon Masters Norwood Paragon CC 3V

52 Simon Parker Crawley Wheelers 4

53 Kevin Jones Twickenham CC 4V

53 Adam Daniel Dulwich Paragon 4

53 Anthony Steaman Crawley Wheelers 4V

53 Adam Platts Dulwich Paragon CC 3V

53 Adam Hansen Pearson Cycling Club 4

dnf Steve Smith VC Meudon 3V

dnf Claire Leonard Brighton Mitre 2VW

dnf Tony Vickers Pearson Cycling Club 3

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members