Road: Matt gets off the mark in Essex Roads win

Road: Matt gets off the mark in Essex Roads win

Home » Road racing

Location: East Hanningford, Essex
Event: 28 April 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

First-season rider Matt Menlove got off the mark as he led a 1-2 for Maldon & District CC in Essex Roads CC’s 44-mile Spring Lambs Road Race at East Hanningfield.

Improving on his third place in Braintree Velo’s road race at the end of March, the Wickford 33-year-old powered up the climb to the finish to cross the line a second clear of veteran clubmate Neil Chapman at the head of a 40-plus pack.

“It was a great race today – I’ve can’t believe I’ve won,” said dad-to-be Menlove, an athlete in his younger days who began riding a mountain bike a year and a half ago for exercise and now rides the 25 miles to and from his work in Ilford for training.

“I was quite strong on the climbs today and managed to get up the last one the best.

“I’d done nothing for a long time before I got a mountain bike, and.I then used the Bike2Work Scheme to get a bike to ride the work. I watched a Maldon club race at the end of last year and thought I’d give it a go.

“I’m not a young guy, and with work and a baby on the way my time is busy, but riding to work and doing a bit on the turbo at home seems to be working for me.

“It was a good day for the club – I only met Neil and most of the other Maldon guys for the first time today!”


1 Matthew Menlove (Maldon & District CC) 1-55-00
2 Neil Chapman (Maldon & District CC) at 1sec
3 Mark Longstaff (Colchester Rovers CC)
4 Matt Cowan (Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team)
5 Thomas Gillingwater (Strada Sport)
6 Damien Foy (Eagle RC)
7 David Bird (London Phoenix CC)
8 Samuel Morgan (London Phoenix CC)
9 Paul Wright (Stowmarket & District CC)
10 Alex Cohen (Finsbury Park CC)
11 David Bamford (East London Velo)
12 Gerard Miley (St Ives CC)
13 Daniel Scott (Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team)
14 Steven Hubbard (Cambridge CC)
15 Jonathan Needham (Finchley Racing Team)
16 Thomas Colvin (Velo Schils-Interbike RT)
17 Miles Butler (London Phoenix CC)
18 Andy Defrates (Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club)
19 Leigh Haigh (Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club)
20 Brad Lamb (Glade CC)
21 Kevin Jeffries (Velo Schils-Interbike RT)
22 David Youell (Eagle RC)
23 James Hockridge (Colchester Rovers CC)
24 Shaun Rouse (North Road CC)
25 Nigel Hobday (Cambridge CC)
26 Tom Baskaya (Finsbury Park CC)
27 Benjamin Willy (Southend Wheelers)
28 David Farrow (Eagle RC)
29 Adrian McTigue (Ipswich BC)
30 Thomas Dean (Eagle RC)
31 Glyndwr Thomas (VC Norwich)
32 Graham Galvin (East London Velo)
33 Richard Farrow (West Suffolk Wheelers & Triathlon Club)
34 James Cook (Shaftesbury CC)
35 Adrian Ward (Shaftesbury CC)
36 James Wylie (Velo Schil -Interbike RT)
37 Trevor Whittock (Lea Valley CC)
38 Dieter Rowe (Strada Sport)
39 Glenn O'Brien (CC Luton)
40 Daniel Jaeggi (London Phoenix CC)
41 Thomas Smith (CC Hackney)
42 Mark Yale (Stowmarket & District CC)
43 Charlie Bratt (St Ives CC)
44 Mark Howard (Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team)
45 Thomas McLaren (East London Velo)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members